Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

Roster For Prospects Tournament Set

by Glen Andresen / Minnesota Wild

The Boston Bruins are the current owners of the Stanley Cup, but the Minnesota Wild has a title to defend as well. On September 10th, Minnesota Wild prospects will look to defend their 2010 NHL Prospects Tournament title in Traverse City, Michigan.

Last year, under the direction of Head Coach Mike Yeo, the Wild swept through the preliminary round with a 3-0 record, and then defeated the Detroit Red Wings to take the title.

This season, new Houston Aeros Head Coach John Torchetti will lead the team along with his new assistants, Sebastien Laplante and Mike Van Ryn.

The Wild roster will feature eight draft picks, including 2011 first rounder Zack Phillips. He'll be joined 2010 second rounder Brett Bulmer, as well as highly touted goaltenders Matt Hackett and Darcy Kuemper. Chay Genoway and Justin Fontaine, the two college free agents signed by the Wild last spring will also be on the roster. Other notable names include Burnsville's Kyle Medvec, who will get his first Prospects Tournament appearance after being drafted in 2006, as well as former Como Park High School star, Mike Kramer and former Minnesota Gopher, Sam Lofquist, who scored a highlight reel goal in last month's Wild Development Camp. Kramer and Lofquist are both tryout players.

Of course, Wild prospects playing hockey in college or Europe are not able to participate, meaning Mikael Granlund, Jonas Brodin, Johan Larsson and Jason Zucker will not be playing this year.

To view the entire roster, click here.

Following last year's triumph, the Wild signed three tryout defensemen - Josh Caron, Colton Jobke and Jared Spurgeon - to contracts. Of course, Spurgeon surprised everybody by rising quickly enough to earn a regular spot on the Wild blue line midway through last season.

The Wild will be grouped with the Buffalo Sabres, the Columbus Blue Jackets and Detroit in the Howe Division. The Carolina Hurricanes, Dallas Stars, New York Rangers and St. Louis Blues will make up the Gretzky Division.

Here is the game schedule for the week (All times are listed as Central):

Saturday, September 10

Time Home Visitor
2:30 PM Minnesota Buffalo
3:00 PM Dallas Carolina
6:00 PM NY Rangers
St. Louis
7:00 PM Detroit Columbus

Sunday, September 11

Time Home Visitor
1:30 PM Columbus Buffalo
2:00 PM St. Louis
5:00 PM NY Rangers
5:30 PM Minnesota Detroit

Tuesday, September 13

Time Home Visitor
2:00 PM Dallas St. Louis
2:30 PM NY Rangers
5:30 PM Minnesota Columbus
6:00 PM Detroit

Wednesday, September 14

Time Home Visitor
2:00 PM 4th Gretzky
4th Howe
2:30 PM 3rd Gretzky
3rd Howe
5:30 PM 2nd Gretzky
2nd Howe
6:00 PM 1st Gretzky
1st Howe

View More