Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

Roseau's Aaron Ness named 2008 Mr. Hockey

by Staff Writer / Minnesota Wild
SAINT PAUL/MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. -- The Minnesota Minutemen announced today that Aaron Ness from Roseau High School is the recipient of the 24th annual Mr. Hockey Award, given to the outstanding senior boys high school hockey player in the state of Minnesota.  Joe Phillippi of Hill-Murray School received The Frank Brimsek Award, in recognition of Minnesota’s top senior goaltender.  Ken Essay (Mankato West) and Curt Giles (Edina) received The John Mariucci Award, given to the Class A and Class AA high school coaches of the year and Jim Pohl received The Cliff Thompson Award, presented to the “Old Timer Coach” of the year.

The Mr. Hockey Award, given each year to the outstanding senior hockey player in the state of Minnesota, is selected by a panel of judges, including National Hockey League scouts, Division I coaches and selected media members from around the state. Other finalists for this year’s award were: Tyler Barnes (Burnsville High School), J. T. Brown (Rosemount High School), Cory Fienhage (Eastview High School), Jake Gardiner (Minnetonka High School), Joe Gleason (Edina High School), Justin Jokinen (Cloquet High School), Zack Lehrke (Park Rapids High School), Drew Olson (Brainerd High School) and Jake Youso (International Falls High School).

Previous Mr. Hockey Award winners are: Ryan McDonagh (2007), David Fischer (2006), Brian Lee (2005), Tom Gorowski (2004) Nate Dey (2003), Gino Guyer (2002), Marty Sertich (2001), Paul Martin (2000), Jeff Taffe (1999), John Pohl (1998), Aaron Miskovich (1997), Dave Spehar (1996), Erik Rasmussen (1995), Mike Crowley (1994), Nick Checco (1993), Brian Bonin (1992), Darby Hendrickson (1991), Joe Dziedzic (1990), Trent Klatt (1989), Larry Olimb (1988), Kris Miller (1987), George Pelawa (1986) and Tom Chorske (1985).

The Minnesota Wild and Acceleration Minnesota are co-sponsors of the Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet.  The Mr. Hockey Award is hosted by the Minnesota Minutemen.
View More