Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

Mr. Hockey Finalists Announced

by Staff Writer / Minnesota Wild
The Minnesota Minute Men announced today the Top Ten Candidates for the 26th Annual Mr. Hockey Award. They are: Mark Alt (Cretin-Derham Hall High School), Joey Benik (Saint Francis High School), Nick Bjugstad (Blaine High School), Cal Decowski (Andover High School), Max Gardiner (Minnetonka High School), Caleb Herbert (Bloomington Jefferson High School), Justin Holl (Minnetonka High School), Christian Isackson (Saint Thomas Academy), Adam Krause (Hermantown High School) and Brock Nelson (Warroad High School).

The Minnesota Minute Men also announced today that Zane Gothberg of Thief River Falls High School has won The Frank Brimsek Award in recognition of the state’s top senior goaltender. 

The 26th annual Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet will be held at 12:00 p.m. (noon) on Sunday, March 14 at the Grand Ballroom at RiverCentre (175 Kellogg Boulevard). The Boys State High School Hockey Tournament will be held at Xcel Energy Center, March 10-13. The Minnesota Wild and Acceleration Minnesota are co-sponsors of the Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet. The Mr. Hockey Award is hosted by The Minnesota Minute Men.

The Mr. Hockey Award is given to the outstanding senior high school hockey player in the state of Minnesota and is selected by a panel of National Hockey League Scouts, Division One coaches and selected media members from around the state. Three other awards will be presented at the banquet: The Frank Brimsek Award, The John Mariucci Award, given to the Class A and Class AA high school coaches of the year and The Cliff Thompson Award, presented to the “Old Timer Coach” of the year.

Previous Mr. Hockey Award winners are: Tom Chorske (1985), George Pelawa (1986), Kris Miller (1987), Larry Olimb (1988), Trent Klatt (1989), Joe Dziedzic (1990), Darby Hendrickson (1991), Brian Bonin (1992), Nick Checco (1993), Mike Crowley (1994), Erik Rasmussen (1995), Dave Spehar (1996), Aaron Miskovich (1997), John Pohl (1998), Jeff Taffe (1999), Paul Martin (2000), Marty Sertich (2001), Gino Guyer (2002), Nate Dey (2003), Tom Gorowsky (2004), Brian Lee (2005), David Fischer (2006), Ryan McDonagh (2007), Aaron Ness (2008) and Nick Leddy (2009).

For more information and to purchase tickets to the Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet please contact Fiona Quick at (612) 214-2444, or visit or Individual tickets are $27.00.
View More