Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

Mr. Hockey Finalists Announced

by Staff Writer / Minnesota Wild

The Minnesota Minutemen announced today the Top Ten Candidates for the 23rd Annual Mr. Hockey Award. They are: Jordy Christian (Moorhead), Mike Dorr (Roseville), Tyler Johnson (Cloquet), Nick Larson (Hill-Murray), John Lee (Moorhead), Aaron Marvin (Warroad), Taylor Matson (Academy of Holy Angels), Ryan McDonagh (Cretin Derham Hall), Matt Reber (Edina) and Patrick White (Grand Rapids).

The Minnesota Minutemen also announced today that Reid Ellingson of Cloquet High School has won The Frank Brimsek Award in recognition of the state’s top senior goaltender. 

Click here to visit the Mr. Hockey Award website.

The 23rd annual Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet will be held at noon on Sunday, March 11 at the Star Tribune Grand Ballroom at RiverCentre (175 Kellogg Boulevard). The Boys State High School Hockey Tournament will be held at Xcel Energy Center, March 7-10. The Minnesota Wild and Acceleration Minnesota are co-sponsors of the Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet.  The Mr. Hockey Award is hosted by The Minnesota Minutemen.

The Mr. Hockey Award is given to the outstanding senior high school hockey player in the state of Minnesota and is selected by a panel of National Hockey League Scouts, Division One coaches and selected media members from around the state. David Fischer from Apple Valley was the 2006 Mr. Hockey Award recipient.  Three other awards will be presented at the banquet: The Frank Brimsek Award, The John Mariucci Award, given to the Class A and Class AA high school coaches of the year and The Cliff Thompson Award, presented to the “Old Timer Coach” of the year.

Previous Mr. Hockey Award winners are: Tom Chorske (1985), George Pelawa (1986), Kris Miller (1987), Larry Olimb (1988), Trent Klatt (1989), Joe Dziedzic (1990), Darby Hendrickson (1991), Brian Bonin (1992), Nick Checco (1993), Mike Crowley (1994), Erik Rasmussen (1995), Dave Spehar (1996), Aaron Miskovich (1997), John Pohl (1998), Jeff Taffe (1999), Paul Martin (2000), Marty Sertich (2001), Gino Guyer (2002), Nate Dey (2003), Tom Gorowski (2004) and Brian Lee (2005).

To purchase tickets for the Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet, please contact Mary Hedberg at (651) 735-2184.  Individual tickets for the event are $25.00.

View More