Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

Minnesota hockey greats announced

by Staff Writer / Minnesota Wild
SAINT PAUL/MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. – The National Hockey League’s (NHL) Minnesota Wild today announced the winners of the Minnesota Hockey Greats contest presented by AT&T. The team will honor the 1966 International Falls High School Hockey Team as the greatest boys’ high school hockey team in Minnesota history and Neal Broten as the greatest Minnesota born hockey player of all-time in a special on-ice ceremony during Friday’s game against Nashville. The winners were voted on by fans during the 2008-09 season.

The Broncos went 26-0 and defeated Roseau for their fifth state tournament triumph and third in a row in 1966. The club was led by future United States Hockey Hall of Famer Tim Sheehy, who went on to be an All-American at Boston College and a member of the World Hockey Association’s first championship team, the 1972-73 New England Whalers. Coach Larry Ross, a Hall of Famer himself, had four players named to the All-Tournament Team: Ron Beck, Steve Ross, Sheehy and Ron Weum. Beck, the starting goalie for the 1966 Broncos, will accept the award on behalf of his team Friday. The 1966 International Falls squad defeated the 1959 Roseau Rams in the finals of the 10-team greatest boys’ high school hockey team in Minnesota history competition.

Broten led the Roseau Rams to three high school hockey tournaments and then helped lead the University of Minnesota Golden Gophers to an NCAA championship in 1979 as a freshman, scoring the game-winning goal in the Finals against North Dakota. Broten was a member of the 1980 gold medal U.S. Olympic team, and in 1981 was named as the first-ever recipient of the Hobey Baker Award honoring the nation's top player. He recorded 923 points (289-634=923) in 1099 NHL contests and was a member of the 1995 Stanley Cup champion New Jersey Devils, scoring twice in the Cup-clinching game vs. Detroit, including the Cup-clinching goal. He spent 15 of his 17 seasons with the North Stars and Dallas Stars, where his No. 7 was later retired in 1998. Broten was inducted into the United State Hockey Hall of Fame on November 1, 2000. He defeated Phil Housley in the finals of the 32-person greatest Minnesota born hockey player of all-time contest.
Click on the images below to view the full AT&T brackets

View More