Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

Kloos Named Mr. Hockey

by Staff Writer / Minnesota Wild
The Minnesota Minute Men announced today that Justin Kloos from Lakeville South High School is the recipient of the 28th Annual Mr. Hockey Award, given to the outstanding senior boy’s high school hockey player in the state of Minnesota. Michael Bitzer from Moorhead High School received The Frank Brimsek Award, in recognition of Minnesota’s top senior goaltender. Ken Pauly (Benilde-St. Margaret’s School) and Bruce Plante (Hermantown High School) received The John Mariucci Award, given to the Class AA and Class A high school coaches of the year. Bart Larson (Edina East/West High Schools) received The Cliff Thompson Award, presented to the “Old Timer Coach” of the year.

The Mr. Hockey Award, given each year to the outstanding senior hockey player in the state of Minnesota, is selected by a panel of judges, including National Hockey League scouts, Division I coaches and selected media members from around the state. Other finalists for this year’s award were: Will Merchant (Eagan High School), Grant Opperman (Breck School), Judd Peterson (Marshall School, Duluth), Jake Randolph (Duluth East High School), Charlie Sampair (Hill-Murray), Eric Schurhamer (Saint Thomas Academy), Jared Thomas (Hermantown High School), Dom Toninato (Duluth East High School) and Michael Zajac (Eagan High School).

 Previous Mr. Hockey Award winners are: Kyle Rau (2011), Nick Bjugstad (2010), Nick Leddy (2009), Aaron Ness (2008), Ryan McDonagh (2007), David Fischer (2006), Brian Lee (2005), Tom Gorowsky (2004) Nate Dey (2003), Gino Guyer (2002), Marty Sertich (2001), Paul Martin (2000), Jeff Taffe (1999), John Pohl (1998), Aaron Miskovich (1997), Dave Spehar (1996), Erik Rasmussen (1995), Mike Crowley (1994), Nick Checco (1993), Brian Bonin (1992), Darby Hendrickson (1991), Joe Dziedzic (1990), Trent Klatt (1989), Larry Olimb (1988), Kris Miller (1987), George Pelawa (1986) and Tom Chorske (1985).

Kyle Koop (Maple Grove High School) was the other finalist for The Frank Brimsek Award this year. Previous Frank Brimsek Award winners are: Alex Lyon (2011), Zane Gothberg (2010), Casey O’Connor (2009), Joe Phillippi (2008), Reid Ellingson (2007), Austin Lee (2006), Alec Richards (2005), Matt Lundin (2004), Jon Anderson (2003), Josh Johnson (2002), Eric Aarnio (2001), Jake Brant (2000), Adam Laaksonen (1999), Adam Coole (1998), Kyle Kolquist (1997), Karl Goehring (1996) and Todd Kelzenberg (1995).
View More