Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

History Of The Number 15 Pick In The NHL Draft

by Evan Sporer / Minnesota Wild

Leading up to the 2016 NHL Entry Draft, will take a look at the top 30 ranked skaters according to the International Scouting Service. The Minnesota Wild owns the 15th pick in the first round, which will take place Friday, June 24 at First Niagara Center in Buffalo, N.Y.

Having made the Stanley Cup Playoffs for the fourth consecutive season by qualifying for the 2016 postseason, the Wild own a pick that falls in the bottom-half of the first round.

But the 15th pick hasn’t come without value over the years, with All-Stars and Hall of Famers being selected from that spot.

Here is a list of the history of the number 15 pick in the NHL Draft:

year position player drafted  by
2015 zachary senyshyn rw bos
2014 dylan larkin c det
2013 ryan pulock d nyi
2012 cody ceci d ott
2011 j.t. miller c nyr
2010 derek forbort d lak
2009 peter holland c ana
2008 erik karlsson d ott
2007 alex plante d edm
2006 riku helenius g tbl
2005 ryan o'marra c nyi
2004 alexander radulov lw nsh
2003 robert nilsson rw nyi
2002 jesse niinimaki c edm
2001 igor knyazev d car
2000 artem kryukov c buf
1999 scott kelman c phx
1998 mathieu chouinard g ott
1997 matt zultek lw lak
1996 dainus zubrus rw PHI
1995 jeff ware d TOR
1994 alexander kharlamov c WSH
1993 mats lindgren c WPG
1992 jason bowen c PHI
1991 alex kovalev rw NYR
1990 mark greig rw HFD
1989 jason soules d EDM
1988 reggie savage c WSH
1987 joe sakic c QUE
1986 mark pederson lw MTL
1985 david latta lw QUE
  1. trevoer stienburg
rw QUE
1983 bob errey lw PIT
1982 chris kontos lw NYR
1981 al macinnis d CGY
1980 jerome dupont d CHI
1979 brad macrimmon d bos
1978 steve tambellini c nyi
1977 mike bossy rw nyi
1976 greg carroll c wsh
1975 pierre mondou c mtl

* - Italic denotes NHL All-Star; * - bold denotes Hockey Hall-of-Fame inductee

Related Items:

View More