Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

Haula, Niederreiter Added To World Cup Rosters

by Evan Sporer / Minnesota Wild

Minnesota Wild forwards Erik Haula and Nino Niederreiter were named to their respective country's rosters on Friday for the 2016 World Cup of Hockey.

Haula was chosen by Finland in the final round of payer additions; Niederreiter was chosen by Team Europe, a collection of players from the European countries not represented in the upcoming international tournament.

Haula and Niederreiter join Mikko Koivu and Mikael Granlund (Finland), Zach Parise and Ryan Suter (United States), and Thomas Vanek (Europe) as the Wild players who will play in the 2016 tournament.

Haula and Niederreiter had career years for the Wild, establishing new highs in assists and points. Haula also scored a career best 14 goals.

The two began playing on a line together in mid-February, and were two of the Wild's most productive forwards from that point on. Over the final 27 games of the regular season, Haula had 21 points, and Niederreiter 19, first and third respectively on the Wild in scoring over that stretch.

Niederreiter is coming off playing for Switzerland at the 2016 IIHF World Championship. He had three goals and three assists in seven games, and also took a team-high 30 shots on goal. He had previously played in seven international tournaments for Switzerland, including the 2014 Olympics. He helped the Swiss earn its first medal at an IIHF Championship when they won silver in 2013; he led Switzerland that tournament with five goals and eight points.

Haula has played in four international tournaments for Finland. He did not participate in the 2016 World Championship due to injury. He was on its 2014 World Championship team, and also played in thee junior tournaments.

Preliminary rosters for the tournament had been announced on March 2. Each country had seven remaining spots to fill.

The World Cup was last played in 2004, and the 2016 tournament will mark the third time it is played. Games will be held from Sept. 17 to Oct. 1 at the Air Canada Centre in Toronto.

The participating teams at the 2016 tournament are the United States, Canada, Finland, Sweden, Russia, Czech Republic, Team Europe, and Team North America, a roster made up of skaters 24-years-old and under. Players that fall in that age bracket are not eligible to play for the United States or Canada.

View More