Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

Four Wild Players On All-Star Ballot

by Staff Writer / Minnesota Wild

 Brian Rolston, the Wild’s leading scorer, has the chance to represent the Western Conference at the 2006-07 NHL All Star Game. Beginning Wednesday, fans can vote Rolston and other Wild players in via
The National Hockey League’s (NHL) Minnesota Wild announced today that C Pavol Demitra, G Manny Fernandez, RW Marian Gaborik and C Brian Rolston have been named to the 2006-07 NHL All-Star Ballot, which was released by the league this afternoon. Players appearing on the ballot were selected by the NHL’s Hockey Operations Department.

Demitra, 31 (11/29/74), is a three-time NHL All-Star (1999, 2000 and 2002) and currently ranks third on the team with 11 points (3-8=11) in 14 games. A native of Dubnica, Slovakia, Demitra has scored 20 or more goals in eight consecutive seasons, the seventh longest active streak in the NHL.

Fernandez, 32 (8/27/74), became the first netminder in Wild history to log 30 wins in a season when he went 30-18-7 in 2005-06 and currently ranks tied for seventh in the NHL with eight wins. The Etobicoke, Ontario-native has never appeared in an NHL All-Star Game.

Gaborik, 24 (2/14/82), is the Wild’s all-time scoring leader, with 281 points (138-143=281) in just over five professional seasons, each with Minnesota. A native of Trencin, Slovakia, Gaborik became the first player in Wild history to appear in an NHL All-Star Game when, in 2003, he made his lone All-Star appearance.  

Rolston, 33 (2/21/73), is the current Wild captain and leads the team with 15 points (10-5=15) in 14 games this season. The Flint, Mich.-native is tied for the NHL lead with three game-winning goals and ranks second among all active players in career shorthanded goals (32). He has never appeared in an NHL All-Star Game.  

Three Minnesota Wild players have represented the team in past NHL All-Star Games. In 2003, Gaborik became the first Wild player to participate in the contest and at the most recent NHL All-Star Game, held at Saint Paul’s Xcel Energy Center in 2004, Dwayne Roloson and Filip Kuba represented the Wild.

This season, the Cold-fX/NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, presented by 2K Sports, will be entirely digital for the first time. From Nov. 15 through Jan. 2, fans around the world can “Click to Vote” for Eastern and Western Conference All-Star starters on-line at

The 2007 NHL All-Star Celebration, hosted at the American Airlines Center in Dallas, will take place January 23 and 24. Both the Dodge Nitro/NHL SuperSkills event, which will take place January 23 and the January 24 NHL All-Star Game will be broadcast live on VERSUS.

View More