Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

Dubnyk Nominated For Masterton

by Staff Writer / Minnesota Wild

The Twin Cities chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association (PHWA) today announced the nomination of Minnesota Wild goaltender Devan Dubnyk for the National Hockey League’s (NHL) Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy. The trophy is presented annually to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.

Dubnyk, 28 (5/4/86), is 35-11-3 with a 2.05 goals-against average (GAA), a .930 save percentage (SV%) and six shutouts in 53 games this season. He ranks second in the NHL in GAA and SV%, tied for fourth in shutouts and sixth in wins. Since being acquired by Minnesota from the Arizona Coyotes on Jan. 14, Dubnyk is 26-6-1 with a 1.70 GAA, .939 SV%, five shutouts and two assists in 34 straight starts. He leads the NHL in wins and is second in shutouts since Jan. 15 and has set new career highs in games played, wins, shutouts and assists (two) this season. Dubnyk went 9-5-2 with a 2.72 GAA, a .916 SV% and one shutout in 19 games with Arizona before the trade.

Dubnyk played for three different teams in 2013-14, appearing in 32 games with the Edmonton Oilers, two contests with the Nashville Predators and finished the season playing eight games with the Hamilton Bulldogs in the American Hockey League. He owns a career record of 96-88-25 with 2.69 GAA, a .914 SV% and 14 shutouts in 226 career NHL games with Edmonton, Nashville, Arizona and Minnesota.

The winner of the Masterton Trophy is selected by a poll among the 30 chapters of the PHWA at the end of the regular season. NHL writers first presented the trophy in 1968 to commemorate the late Bill Masterton, who played for the Minnesota North Stars and exhibited to a high degree the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. Masterton died on Jan. 15, 1968 as a result of head injuries suffered during a game.

Josh Harding (2013-14, 2012-13), Clayton Stoner (2011-12), Pierre-Marc Bouchard (2010-11), Guillaume Latendresse (2009-10), Kurtis Foster (2008-09), Aaron Voros (2007-08), Marian Gaborik (2006-07), Wes Walz (2005-06, 2000-01), Alexandre Daigle (2003-04), Dwayne Roloson (2002-03) and Richard Park (2001-02) were previously nominated for the award. Harding was named the 2013 recipient of the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy on June 14, 2013, to become the first player in Wild history to win a voted-on NHL Award.

View More