Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

Wild grants State of Hockey Legacy Award posthumously to Doug Woog

The Woog family will be presented with award during the second intermission of the Wild game on Jan. 18

by Minnesota Wild @mnwild /

ST. PAUL -- The Minnesota Wild, in partnership with Minnesota Hockey and FOX Sports North, announced today that Doug Woog is the posthumous recipient of the 2019-20 State of Hockey Legacy Award.

"Doug is a true Minnesota hockey treasure and we are proud to recognize him for nearly 50 years of dedication and service in the State of Hockey," said Minnesota Wild Owner Craig Leipold.

Woog was born and raised in South Saint Paul, Minn., and graduated from South St. Paul High School in 1962. He played in four Minnesota State High School Hockey Tournaments and earned all-state hockey honors three consecutive years. Woog went on to attend the University of Minnesota to play under John Mariucci, leading the team in scoring and earning All-American honors his junior year (1965), and captaining the Gophers his senior year. Following graduation, he played for the U.S. National Team at the 1967 International Ice Hockey Federation Men's World Championship and was a candidate for the 1968 U.S. Olympic Team.

Woog began his coaching career with the Minnesota Junior Stars in 1971 and helped lead the team to two Junior National titles in six seasons. He served as the boys' hockey head coach for South St. Paul High School for six seasons beginning in 1977, helping the team win two conference titles and advance to four state tournaments. Woog also served in various coaching positions on many U.S. National Teams from 1978-1989. In 1985, he became the head coach of the University of Minnesota Golden Gophers ice hockey team. During his 14-season tenure he led the Gophers to 12 consecutive NCAA tournament appearances, six NCAA Final Four appearances, four regular-season conference championships and three conference playoff titles and coached Hobey Baker Award winners Robb Stauber (1988) and Brian Bonin (1996). Following his retirement in 1999, Woog was inducted into the United State Hockey Hall of Fame in 2002.

The State of Hockey Legacy Award, presented by the Wild, Minnesota Hockey and FOX Sports North, recognizes individuals who have made extraordinary and long-term contributions to hockey in Minnesota. Past recipients are Larry Hendrickson (2019), Bob Naegele, Jr. (2018), Walter L. Bush, Jr. (2016), Bob O'Connor (2015), Lou Nanne (2014), Glen Sonmor (2012), Neal Broten (2011) and Lou Cotroneo (2010).

The Woog family will be presented with the State of Hockey Legacy Award during the second intermission of the Minnesota Wild game vs. the Dallas Stars on Saturday, Jan. 18.

Saturday's game, presented by Wells Fargo, begins at 8 p.m. CT on FOX Sports North and KFAN 100.3 FM.

View More