Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

Cretin-Derham Hall’s Ryan McDonagh Named Mr. Hockey

by Staff Writer / Minnesota Wild

 Ryan McDonagh became the first player from Cretin-Derham Hall to win the Mr. Hockey Award.
The Minnesota Minutemen announced today that Cretin-Derham Hall’s Ryan McDonagh is the recipient of the 23nd annual Mr. Hockey Award, given to the outstanding senior boys high school hockey player in the state of Minnesota. Reid Ellingson of Cloquet is the recipient of The Frank Brimsek Award, in recognition of Minnesota’s top senior goaltender.

The Mr. Hockey Award, given each year to the outstanding senior hockey player in the state of Minnesota, is selected by a panel of judges, including National Hockey League scouts, Division I coaches and selected media members from around the state. Other finalists for this year’s award were: Jordy Christian (Moorhead), Mike Dorr (Roseville), Tyler Johnson (Cloquet), Nick Larson (Hill-Murray), John Lee (Moorhead), Aaron Marvin (Warroad), Taylor Matson (Academy of Holy Angels), Matt Reber (Edina) and Patrick White (Grand Rapids).

Previous Mr. Hockey Award winners are: David Fischer (2006), Brian Lee (2005), Tom Gorowski (2004) Nate Dey (2003), Gino Guyer (2002), Marty Sertich (2001), Paul Martin (2000), Jeff Taffe (1999), John Pohl (1998), Aaron Miskovich (1997), Dave Spehar (1996), Erik Rasmussen (1995), Mike Crowley (1994), Nick Checco (1993), Brian Bonin (1992), Darby Hendrickson (1991), Joe Dziedzic (1990), Trent Klatt (1989), Larry Olimb (1988), Kris Miller (1987), George Pelawa (1986) and Tom Chorske (1985).

The Minnesota Wild and Acceleration Minnesota are co-sponsors of the Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet.  The Mr. Hockey Award is hosted by the Minnesota Minutemen.

View More