Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

Blaine's Bjugstad Named Mr. Hockey

by Staff Writer / Minnesota Wild

Wild GameDay

Wild TV Special: Nick Bjugstad
Wild TV talks to Mr. Hockey 2010
The Minnesota Minute Men announced today that forward Nick Bjugstad from Blaine High School is the recipient of the 26th Annual Mr. Hockey Award, given to the outstanding senior boy’s high school hockey player in the state of Minnesota. Zane Gothberg of Thief River Falls High School received The Frank Brimsek Award, in recognition of Minnesota’s top senior goaltender. Kevin Smalley (Duluth Denfeld High School) and Jerry Hayes (Apple Valley High School) received The John Mariucci Award, given to the Class A and Class AA high school coaches of the year and Lyn Ellingson (Grand Rapids High School) received The Cliff Thompson Award, presented to the “Old Timer Coach” of the year.

The Mr. Hockey Award, given each year to the outstanding senior hockey player in the state of Minnesota, is selected by a panel of judges, including National Hockey League scouts, Division I coaches and selected media members from around the state. Other finalists for this year’s award were: Mark Alt (Cretin-Derham Hall High School), Joey Benik (Saint Francis High School), Cal Decowski (Andover High School), Max Gardiner (Minnetonka High School), Caleb Herbert (Bloomington Jefferson High School), Justin Holl (Minnetonka High School), Christian Isackson (Saint Thomas Academy), Adam Krause (Hermantown High School) and Brock Nelson (Warroad High School).

Previous Mr. Hockey Award winners are: Nick Leddy (2009), Aaron Ness (2008), Ryan McDonagh (2007), David Fischer (2006), Brian Lee (2005), Tom Gorowsky (2004) Nate Dey (2003), Gino Guyer (2002), Marty Sertich (2001), Paul Martin (2000), Jeff Taffe (1999), John Pohl (1998), Aaron Miskovich (1997), Dave Spehar (1996), Erik Rasmussen (1995), Mike Crowley (1994), Nick Checco (1993), Brian Bonin (1992), Darby Hendrickson (1991), Joe Dziedzic (1990), Trent Klatt (1989), Larry Olimb (1988), Kris Miller (1987), George Pelawa (1986) and Tom Chorske (1985).

The Minnesota Wild and Acceleration Minnesota are co-sponsors of the Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet.  The Mr. Hockey Award is hosted by the Minnesota Minute Men. For more information on the Mr. Hockey Award visit or
View More