Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

Walker named 2018 Mr. Hockey

Kelly wins Frank Brimsek Award as state's top goaltender

by Minnesota Wild @mnwild /

ST. PAUL -- The Minnesota Minute Men announced today that Sammy Walker from Edina High School is the recipient of the 34th annual Mr. Hockey Award, given to the outstanding senior boys' high school hockey player in the state of Minnesota. Atticus Kelly from St. Thomas Academy received The Frank Brimsek Award, in recognition of Minnesota's top senior goaltender.

Grant Clafton (Greenway) and Jeremiah Johnson (St. Michael-Albertville) received The John Mariucci Award, given to the Class A and Class AA high school coaches of the year. Roy Nystrom (Albert Lea) received the Cliff Thompson Award, presented to the "Old Timer Coach" of the year and Lou Nanne was the recipient of the inaugural Mr. Hockey Ambassador Award, given to an influential leader dedicated to the growth and development of hockey in Minnesota.

The Mr. Hockey Award is given to the outstanding senior high school boys' hockey player in the state of Minnesota and is selected by a panel of National Hockey League Scouts, Junior Scouts/Coaches and selected media members from around the state. Other finalists for this year's award were: Ben Almquist (Holy Family), George Grannis (Duluth Marshall), Demetrios Koumontzis (Edina), Luke LaMaster (Duluth East), Luke Loheit (Minnetonka), Lucas McGregor (Centennial), Carter Randklev (Moorhead), Colin Schmidt (Wayzata), and Garrett Worth (Duluth East). Ben Garrity (Rosemount) was the other finalist for The Frank Brimsek Award this year.

Previous Mr. Hockey Award winners are: Casey Mittelstadt (2017), Riley Tufte (2016), Jake Jaremko (2015), Avery Peterson (2014), Grant Besse (2013), Justin Kloos (2012), Kyle Rau (2011), Nick Bjugstad (2010), Nick Leddy (2009), Aaron Ness (2008), Ryan McDonagh (2007), David Fischer (2006), Brian Lee (2005), Tom Gorowsky (2004), Nate Dey (2003), Gino Guyer (2002), Marty Sertich (2001), Paul Martin (2000), Jeff Taffe (1999), John Pohl (1998), Aaron Miskovich (1997), Dave Spehar (1996), Erik Rasmussen (1995), Mike Crowley (1994), Nick Checco (1993), Brian Bonin (1992), Darby Hendrickson (1991), Joe Dziedzic (1990), Trent Klatt (1989), Larry Olimb (1988), Kris Miller (1987), George Pelawa (1986) and Tom Chorske (1985).

Previous Frank Brimsek Award winners are: Jake Begley (2017), Nick Althaus (2016), Dyllan Lubbesmeyer (2015), Hunter Shepard (2014), David Zevnik (2013), Michael Bitzer (2012), Alex Lyon (2011), Zane Gothberg (2010), Casey O'Connor (2009), Joe Phillippi (2008), Reid Ellingson (2007), Austin Lee (2006), Alec Richards (2005), Matt Lundin (2004), Jon Anderson (2003), Josh Johnson (2002), Eric Aarnio (2001), Jake Brant (2000), Adam Laaksonen (1999), Adam Coole (1998), Kyle Kolquist (1997), Karl Goehring (1996) and Todd Kelzenberg (1995).

The 34th annual Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet was held at the Saint Paul RiverCentre Grand Ballroom (175 Kellogg Boulevard) and hosted by Ali Lucia. The Minnesota Wild sponsor the Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet. The Mr. Hockey Award is hosted, coordinated, and presented by the Minnesota Minute Men.

View More