Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Dallas Stars

Who Won What Back in '95

by Daryl "Razor" Reaugh / Dallas Stars

Who Won What Back in 95'

We are now half way through this Lockout delayed and abbreviated 2013 campaign.

The last time the NHL trotted out a 48 game schedule was in 1995 and the following is a hardware history lesson pertaining to that season.

The Devils won the Cup that year and Claude 'I Can't Believe I Shook His Freakin Hand' Lemieux was named Playoff MVP after NJ knocked off Scott Bowman's Red Wings.

In the regular season mullet-headed Jaromir Jagr dueled pre-concussion Eric Lindros for both the league scoring title and the Hart trophy for MVP. They tied with 70 points but Lindros edged Jagr in the all-Pennsylvania MVP vote prompting the deer in headlight NHL awards speech that ended with 'We're gettin' better, and we're gonna do it' - but they/he didn't.

Peter Forsberg edged out Jim Carey for the Golden, Calder trophy as Rookie of the Year. (Comedy fail)

Pat Lafontaine was the Masterton honoree after coming back from concussion issues to star with the Sabres.

Young, non-grey porcupine haired Marc Crawford was Coach of the Year for his precocious work guiding the Quebec Nordiques. His Nords were bettered only by Scotty Bowman's Wings in the points race for the Presidents Trophy in the regular season.

Hasek nipped Belfour for the Vezina in a battle of former Blackhawk net sharers

Ron Francis won the Selke by being the only Penguin forward to give a crap about defending. He was also given the Lady Byng for playing nice.

Paul Coffey (the Red Wing) beat Chris Chelios for his first Norris trophy in almost a decade.

And just before becoming a Dallas Star, Joe Nieuwendyk was awarded the King Clancey for his work in Calgary's community. (The Flames appreciated and respected that, but didn't want to pay him what he was worth on the ice. See ya, Jarome)

Uh yes, 1995.

So who are the front runners for major awards at half way point this year?

Selke - S Koivu (Ana)

Masterton - Brodeur (NJ)

Art Ross - Crosby (Pit)

Rocket Richard - Stamkos (TB)

Hart - Eric Staal (Car)

Jennings - Anderson/Bishop (Ott)

Calder - Justin Schultz (Edm) or Brendan Galagher (Mon)

Norris - Letang (Pit) Pietrangelo (Stl)

Jack Adams - Quenneville (Chi)

Lady Byng - Selanne (Ana)

View More