Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Dallas Stars

Texas Stars Playoff Update

by Staff Writer / Dallas Stars

The Texas Stars were defeated by the Hamilton Bulldogs 3-1 on Sunday in front of 2,897 fans at Copps Coliseum in Game 2 of the Western Conference Finals. Hamilton forward Brock Trotter set up two goals, including the gamewinning goal by defenseman Alex Henry at 4:52 of the second period. Bulldogs’ goalie Curtis Sanford (4-0) stopped 22 Texas shots for his fourth straight win. Texas goalie Matt Climie (1-2) made 27 saves in the defeat. Stars center Warren Peters scored the only Texas goal of the night.

Western Conference Finals Schedule
Game 1 - Texas 2 at Hamilton 3 (OT)
Game 2 – Texas 1 at Hamilton 3 (HAM leads series 2-0)
Game 3 – Wed., May 19 – Hamilton at Texas, 7:30 pm CT
Game 4 – Fri., May 21 – Hamilton at Texas, 7:30 pm CT
*Game 5 – Sat., May 22 – Hamilton at Texas, 7:00 pm CT

*Game 6 – Mon., May 24 – Texas at Hamilton, 6:30 pm CT
*Game 7 – Wed., May 26 – Texas at Hamilton, 6:30 pm CT
*if necessary

MONDAY’S GAME 5-16-10:
Game 3 – Hershey at Manchester at 7:00 pm (EDT) (HER leads series 2-0)

Game 2 – Texas 1 at Hamilton 3 (HAM leads series 2-0)

Manchester is hoping home-ice advantage will help turn the tide in the Eastern Conference Finals as the Monarchs, down 2-0 in the series, host Hershey for Game 3 tonight at the Verizon Wireless Arena. The Monarchs, who were swept by Hershey in 2007, are now 0-6 all-time in the conference finals round. The Bears have won six straight conference finals games since a Game 1 loss to Providence last spring, and Hershey is 11-1 in its last 12 conference finals tilts dating back to its Game 7 overtime ouster of Portland in 2006. Overall, the Bears enter tonight’s contest sporting a seven-game winning streak and a 10-1 mark in the 2010 postseason

• Hamilton forwards David Desharnais and Brock Trotter have combined for three goals and five assists for eight points in two games against the Stars.

• Hershey goaltender Michal Neuvirth made 31 saves on 33 shots Saturday in Game 2, improving his postseason record to a perfect 8-0 (2.27, .903)

• Texas is 4-1 at home in the 2010 Calder Cup Playoffs.

Playoff Format
Four rounds, with each round slated as a best of seven series. The top four teams in each division qualify for playoffs. The teams play within their division for the first two rounds. The division winners will meet in the conference finals. The winner of the Western Conference will play the winner of the Eastern Conference for the Calder Cup. In order to take the Calder Cup, a team must win 16 games.

The Calder Cup
The coveted Calder Cup has been a motivational force for American Hockey League teams throughout the League's 73-year history. It is one of our sport’s greatest challenges and ultimate honors to hoist the Calder Cup in victory.

The trophy is named for Frank Calder, who served as the National Hockey League’s first President from 1917 to 1943. During the 1920’s, Mr. Calder was instrumental in guiding hockey into the mainstream of America’s major cities including Boston, New York, Detroit and Chicago, while helping in the formation of the American League.

The Calder Cup trophy itself was actually first awarded in 1938 to the Providence Reds for winning the second International-American Hockey League championship. (In 1996, George Parsons of the Syracuse Stars was presented the Calder Cup in a ceremony at the Onondaga County War Memorial, as it is believed the Stars never received a trophy for their 1937 championship.

View More