Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Dallas Stars

Stars to Pick Eighth in 2009 NHL Entry Draft

by Dallas Stars Staff / Dallas Stars

The Dallas Stars have the eighth overall pick in the 2009 NHL Entry Draft, determined Tuesday evening in the National Hockey League Draft Drawing. The New York Islanders won the Drawing, giving them the number one overall pick in this year’s draft. The Islanders had the best percentage chance of winning the Drawing at 25.0%.

Related Links:

2009 Draft Top Prospect Profiles (.pdf)

NHL Central Scouting Final Rankings - 2009’s Look at the Draft

Another NHL Mock Draft

The Stars had a 3.6% chance of winning today’s Drawing, with the opportunity to move up a maximum of four spots to the fourth overall pick.

Dallas Stars hockey personnel are focused on the 2009 NHL Entry Draft, slated for June 26-27 at the Bell Centre in Montreal. The first round will take place on the evening of June 26 and be televised on VERSUS. Rounds two through seven will take place on Saturday, June 27.

The Stars have not had a pick in the top 10 since 1996 when Dallas selected Richard Jackman with the fifth overall pick. The highest that the Stars have picked in the 12 subsequent drafts since was 25th (twice), selecting Brenden Morrow in 1997 and Steve Ott in 2000.


Notable No. 8 Overall Picks in the NHL Entry Draft:

2006                        Peter Mueller (Phoenix)

2005                        Devin Setoguchi (San Jose)

2002                        Pierre-Marc Bouchard (Minnesota)

2001                        Pascal LeClaire (Columbus)

1999                        Taylor Pyatt (NY Islanders)

1998                        Mark Bell (Chicago)

1997                        Sergei Samsonov (Boston)

1991                        Richard Matvichuk (Stars)

1990                        Derian Hatcher (Stars)

1988                        Jeremy Roenick (Chicago)

1984                        Shayne Corson (Montreal)

1981                        Grant Fuhr (Edmonton)

1979                        Raymond Bourque (Boston)

1973                        Bob Gainey (Montreal)

1970                        Darryl Sittler (Toronto)

View More