Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Dallas Stars

Robidas Nominated For Bill Masterton Trophy

by Staff Writer / Dallas Stars

Stephane Robidas Highlights
FRISCO, Tex. - The Dallas chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association (PHWA) announced that defenseman Stephane Robidas is its nominee for the 2010-11 Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy.

The Masterton Trophy is presented annually to the NHL player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey. The winner will be selected at the end of the regular season by a poll of the PHWA’s 30 chapters. Last year’s recipient was Jose Theodore of the Washington Capitals.

Robidas, 34, has appeared in 77 games for the Stars this season, registering five goals and 25 assists for 30 points.  He is second on the team in time-on-ice per game (24:38), as well as blocked shots (132). Additionally, he leads all Dallas defensemen in hits (207) and power play points with one goal, 14 assists totaling 15 points.

A native of Sherbrooke, Quebec, Robidas is receiving his third nomination for the Bill Masterton Trophy. He was Dallas’ 2009 nominee as well as Montreal’s selection in 2001. 

NHL writers first presented the trophy in 1968 to commemorate the late Bill Masterton, who played for the Minnesota North Stars and died on January 15, 1968, as the result of head injuries suffered during a game. Masterton’s number 19 has never been worn by another Stars player and was officially retired on January 17, 1987.

Mike Modano was Dallas’ nominee for the 2009-10 season.

View More