Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Dallas Stars

Nieuwendyk & Belfour to join Hockey Hall of Fame

by Staff Writer / Dallas Stars

Nieuwendyk Highlights
The Hockey Hall of Fame adds two more prominent Dallas Stars to their ranks today with the addition of Joe Nieuwendyk and Eddie Belfour. Belfour and Nieuwendyk join Doug Gilmour and Mark Howe in this year’s class. The induction ceremony is scheduled to take place on Monday, November 14th, 2011. The two join Brett Hull (class of 2009) as the only Dallas Stars to be elected into the Hockey Hall of Fame.

The Hockey Hall of Fame is in Toronto and holds all of the NHL’s greatest trophies, including the Stanley Cup, awards and captures the game’s greatest movements in its history. Each player inducted into the Hall is presented with a Hockey Hall of Fame class ring and a plaque with their image of their liking and it is placed in the Verizon Great Hall to commemorate their playing career or life’s work towards the game of hockey.  A display case is then constructed with various memorabilia of the player whether it is jerseys, equipment, milestone pucks or pictures of great events during their career.

Nieuwendyk, 44, played seven seasons for the Dallas Stars helping the franchise capture the Stanley Cup in 1999 and winning the Conn Smythe trophy, given to the most valuable player during the playoffs, after leading the Stars in scoring during the 1999 playoffs. He played for five separate teams (Calgary, Dallas, New Jersey, Toronto and Florida) and won the Stanley Cup in three different decades with three different teams (Calgary 1988, Dallas 1999, New Jersey 2003) during his career. Nieuwendyk won the NHL’s Calder Trophy (Best rookie) in 1987-88 and the King Clancey Memorial Trophy (Leadership) in 1994-95. He skated in 1247 career NHL games over 19 seasons, collecting 1126 points (564g, 562a).

The Whitby, Ontario, native represented Canada at the Olympics in 1998 and 2002, winning the gold medal in 2002. He skated in 442 games for Dallas, scoring 178 goals and 162 assists for 340 points and is still ranking tied for 17th in All-Time Dallas Stars scoring. Nieuwendyk appeared in 158 career NHL playoff games, posting 66 goals and 50 assists for 116 points and currently ranks eighth in All-Time Dallas Stars’ playoff goals with 25. He scored 20 or more goals in 15 of his 19 seasons in the NHL and scored over 30 eight times. Nieuwendyk now leads the Dallas Stars front office after being named the General Manager of the club May 31, 2009.

Belfour Highlights
Belfour, 46, was the starting goaltender for the Dallas Stars for five seasons from 1997-2002 and manned the pipes when the Stars won the Stanley Cup in 1999. He played in 17 NHL seasons from 1988-2007 starting for five different teams (Chicago, San Jose, Dallas, Toronto and Florida).  Belfour won the NHL’s Vezina Trophy (best goaltender) in the 1990-91 and 1992-93 seasons, the William M. Jennings Trophy (fewest goals allowed) in 1990-91, 1992-93, 1994-95 and the 1998-99 seasons, the Calder Trophy (best rookie) in 1990-91 and the Roger Crozier MBNA Saving Grace Award (best save percentage) in 1999-00.

The Carman, Manitoba, native ranks third in all-time NHL wins with 484, behind only Martin Brodeur and Patrick Roy. He appeared in 963 career NHL games posting a 484-320-111 record with a 2.50 goals against average (GAA) and a .906 save percentage (SV%). Belfour was a member of Canada’s gold medal winning team at the 2002 Winter Olympics. Among Dallas Stars all-time leaders he ranks second in wins (160), shutouts (27), GAA (2.19) and sixth in games (307). Belfour led the Stars to the playoffs in four of his five seasons with the club and never posted a GAA above 2.25 during the playoffs, including a 1.67 GAA when the Stars won the Stanley Cup in 1999. He posted less than 20 wins during a full NHL season once in his career, and was credited with 30 or more wins in nine separate seasons during his time in the League.

These two players helped Dallas become a legitimate franchise during their time as players here. Both of their careers list many awards and accomplishments but the Hockey Hall of Fame is the game’s top honor and both have proved that they belong among these ranks. These two players are well deserving of the Hall of Fame Honor and the Dallas Stars will look forward to seeing their names added into the hall of hockey legends.

For more information about the Hockey Hall of Fame Induction ceremony that will take place on November 14 in Toronto, please contact Sarah Talbot at (416) 933-8237 or

View More