Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Dallas Stars

NHLPA Announces Finalists For 2014-15 Ted Lindsay Award

by NHLPA . / Dallas Stars

The National Hockey League Players’ Association (NHLPA) announced today the three finalists for the Ted Lindsay Award: forward Jamie Benn of the Dallas Stars, forward Alex Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals and goaltender Carey Price of the Montreal Canadiens. The Ted Lindsay Award is presented annually to the “Most Outstanding Player” in the NHL, as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA.

Benn and Price are each seeking their first Ted Lindsay Award, while Ovechkin is looking to be named the “Most Outstanding Player” by his fellow players for the fourth time in his career. The 2014-15 Ted Lindsay Award recipient will be announced on June 24th during the 2015 NHL Awards from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas.

The Ted Lindsay Award is the only award voted on by the players themselves, carrying on the tradition established by the Lester B. Pearson Award dating back to 1970-71. The Award honours Ted Lindsay, an All-Star forward known for his skill, tenacity, leadership, and for his role in establishing the original Players’ Association.

The following players are finalists for the 2014-15 Ted Lindsay Award (in alphabetical order):

Jamie Benn, of Victoria, British Columbia, Canada, played in all 82 regular season games for the Dallas Stars in 2014-15. Benn captured the Art Ross Trophy for leading the league in points (87), which he won with a four-point game – including his second hat-trick of the season – on the final night of the regular season. He set career highs in points, goals (35) and assists (52). Benn tied for first in the NHL in even strength points (59), tied for third in even strength assists (36), and he finished third in points-per-game (1.06), sixth in the league in assists, ninth in goals and 11th in average ice-time per game among all forwards (19:56). Benn is seeking his first Ted Lindsay Award as a first-time nominee, and he would become the first Stars player in franchise history to be honoured by his fellow NHLPA members.

Alex Ovechkin, of Moscow, Russia, played 81 games for the Washington Capitals during the 2014-15 regular season, and helped lead the Capitals back into the playoffs in the Eastern Conference. Ovechkin scored 53 goals to capture his fifth Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy (2007-08, 2008-09, 2012-13, 2013-14), and he became the sixth NHL player to record six career 50-goal seasons. He led the league in power-play goals (25) and game-winning goals (11), and he finished fourth in points (81) and eighth in points-per-game (1.00), which also earned him his fifth finalist nomination for the Hart Memorial Trophy – an award he has won three times (2007-08, 2008-09, 2012-13). Ovechkin is vying for his fourth “Most Outstanding Player” award. He previously received the players’ Award in three consecutive seasons (2007-08, 2008-09, 2009-10), and he was also a finalist in both 2005-06 and 2012-13.

Carey Price, of Anahim Lake, British Columbia, Canada, played 66 games for the Montreal Canadiens during the 2014-15 regular season, and helped lead the Canadiens to the second best record in the NHL. Price led the league in wins (44 – a new franchise-best), goals-against average (1.96) and save percentage (.933), which earned him finalist nominations for the Hart Memorial Trophy and the Vezina Trophy. He also claimed the William M. Jennings Trophy, along with Corey Crawford of the Chicago Blackhawks. Price would become just the second Canadiens player to receive the players’ Award, following Guy Lafleur (1975-76, 1976-77, 1977-78), and he would also become only the third goaltender to receive the Award, joining Mike Liut (1980-81) and Dominik Hasek (1996-97, 1997-98). Price is a first-time nominee for the Ted Lindsay Award and he is the first goaltender to be nominated since 2011-12 (Henrik Lundqvist).

Most Outstanding Player” Award Recipients:

Lester B. Pearson Award

1984-85 Wayne Gretzky

1999-00 Jaromir Jagr

1970-71 Phil Esposito

1985-86 Mario Lemieux

2000-01 Joe Sakic

1971-72 Jean Ratelle

1986-87 Wayne Gretzky

2001-02 Jarome Iginla

1972-73 Bobby Clarke

1987-88 Mario Lemieux

2002-03 Markus Naslund

1973-74 Phil Esposito

1988-89 Steve Yzerman

2003-04 Martin St. Louis

1974-75 Bobby Orr

1989-90 Mark Messier

2005-06 Jaromir Jagr

1975-76 Guy Lafleur

1990-91 Brett Hull

2006-07 Sidney Crosby

1976-77 Guy Lafleur

1991-92 Mark Messier

2007-08 Alexander Ovechkin

1977-78 Guy Lafleur

1992-93 Mario Lemieux

2008-09 Alexander Ovechkin

1978-79 Marcel Dionne

1993-94 Sergei Fedorov

Ted Lindsay Award

1979-80 Marcel Dionne

1994-95 Eric Lindros

2009-10 Alexander Ovechkin

1980-81 Mike Liut

1995-96 Mario Lemieux

2010-11 Daniel Sedin

1981-82 Wayne Gretzky

1996-97 Dominik Hasek

2011-12 Evgeni Malkin

1982-83 Wayne Gretzky

1997-98 Dominik Hasek

2012-13 Sidney Crosby

1983-84 Wayne Gretzky

1998-99 Jaromir Jagr

2013-14 Sidney Crosby

View More