Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Dallas Stars

Jim Nill Named Finalist For NHL General Manager Of The Year

by Dallas Stars Staff / Dallas Stars

The National Hockey League announced today that Dallas Stars General Manager Jim Nill was named a finalist for NHL General Manager of the Year for the 2015-16 season. Nill joins Washington Capitals Senior Vice President and General Manager Brian MacLellan and Pittsburgh Penguins Executive Vice President and General Manager Jim Rutherford as the three finalists for the annual award presented to recognize the work of the league's general managers.

Voting for the NHL General Manager of the Year award is conducted by the 30 club general managers and a panel of NHL executives, print and broadcast media at the conclusion of the regular season. This is the first time Nill has been named as a finalist for the award.

The Stars opened the 2015-16 regular season in record-setting fashion as the team matched its best seven-game start to a season in franchise history with a 6-1-0 record. The club would go on to establish new franchise records for best starts through 15 games (12-3-0), 39 games (28-8-3) and 43 games, at which time the team had accumulated 62 points and a 29-10-4 record, ranking tops win the Western Conference.

The Stars finished the 2015-16 as the regular season Central Division and Western Conference champions, posting 109 points and a 50-23-9 record. This season marked the first time that Dallas had won a division title since the team finished first in the Pacific Division with 112 points in 2005-06, also marking the last time the team earned at least 109 points. Dallas made its second postseason appearance in the last three seasons and defeated Minnesota, 4-2, in the Western Conference First Round for the team's first postseason series win since the 2008 Stanley Cup Playoffs.

Nill finishes his third season as General Manager of the Stars after being appointed to the position following the 2012-13 season. He is the 11th General Manager in franchise history and the sixth since the team moved to Dallas.

View More