Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Dallas Stars

Dickinson, Guelph Fall in Memorial Cup Final

by Mark Stepneski / Dallas Stars

Dallas Stars forward prospect Jason Dickinson and the Guelph Storm came up short at the Memorial Cup, losing 6-3 to the Edmonton Oil Kings in the championship game on Sunday.

Guelph scored one minute into the game and had a 2-1 lead after one period, but Edmonton, the Western Hockey League champions, scored three times in the second to take a 4-2 lead. Guelph pulled to within 4-3 in the third period, but the Oil Kings extended the lead to 5-3 and then sealed the win with a late empty net goal.

"I don't think we played our best, but I'm not going to take anything away from them. They were the better team tonight,” said Guelph coach Scott Walker. “I'm proud of the guys, but it's a tough tournament to win.”

Sunday’s loss was the only one at the tournament for Guelph, the Ontario Hockey League champions. Edmonton advanced to the championship game by defeating Val-d’Or, the Quebec Major Junior League champs, in a triple overtime game on Friday.

Henrik Samuelsson led the Oil Kings with two goals and three assists in Sunday’s game. Edgars Kulda, the tournament’s top scorer, had one goal and two assists.

Dickinson, Dallas’ first round pick (29th overall) in 2013, had no points in Sunday’s game. He ended up tied for sixth in tournament scoring with five points (two goals, three assists) in four games.

Forward Gemel Smith, Dallas’ fourth round pick (104th overall) in 2012, had no points in three games for the London Knights, who did not make the playoff round of the tournament after going 0-3-0 in preliminary round play.

Tournament awards

Edmonton Oil Kings forward Edgars Kulda took home tournament MVP honors at the 2014 Memorial Cup. Kulda was one of three Edmonton players named to the tournament All-Star team as well.

2014 Memorial Cup All-Star Team:

Goaltender: Antoine Bibeau (Val-d'Or)
Defense - Cody Corbett (Edmonton)
Defense - Matt Finn (Guelph)
Forward - Edgars Kulda (Edmonton)
Forward - Kerby Rychel (Guelph)
Forward - Henrik Samuelsson (Edmonton)

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Hockey League or Dallas Stars Hockey Club. Mark Stepneski is an independent writer whose posts on reflect his own opinions and do not represent official statements from the Dallas Stars. You can follow Mark on Twitter @StarsInsideEdge.

View More