Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Dallas Stars

Dallas Stars Unveil The Normandy Homes Star Of The Game Award

by Dallas Stars Staff / Dallas Stars

The Dallas Stars unveiled the Normandy Homes Star of the Game Award today at the 2014 Dallas Stars Cowtown Kickoff at Sundance Square in downtown Fort Worth. The award was presented to the 2013-14 winner, Stars captain Jamie Benn

The Normandy Homes Star of the Game Award will be presented annually to the Stars player who earns the most points in the Normandy Homes Three Stars of the Game voting, which occurs after each regular-season game. A player receives five points for a first star selection, three points for a second star and one point for a third star. The Normandy Homes Three Stars of the Game are selected by members of the media in each home city.

Stars captain Jamie Benn earned the award for the 2013-14 season after finishing the campaign with nine first star selections, six second stars and six third stars for a total of 69 points. Kari Lehtonen finished second in the voting with 59 points, while Tyler Seguin finished third on the Stars with 56 points. Benn established new career-highs in goals (34), assists (45) and points (79) in 2013-14. The left wing finished the campaign tied for eighth in the NHL and ranked second on the Stars with 79 points (34-45=79) in 81 regular-season games. Benn also led Dallas with a career-high +21 plus/minus rating.

Each year, Normandy Homes will donate a total of $3,000 to charities selected by Stars players. Normandy Homes will donate $1,000 to the Stars player who is leading the Three Stars voting on Nov. 30, and $1,000 to the player who tallies the most votes from Dec. 1 - Jan. 31. Normandy Homes will also donate $1,000 at the end of the season to a charity of the overall winner's choosing. On behalf of the 2013-14 Star of the Game Winner Jamie Benn, Normandy Homes will be donating $1,000 to the National Multiple Sclerosis Society. Benn donated tickets to each Stars home game during the 2013-14 season for the MS Society and is doing so for the upcoming 2014-15 season as well. Recently, Benn and Stars forward Tyler Seguin participated in a sled hockey charity event where the two played sled hockey with children from the MS Society and Southwest Wheelchair Athletic Association.

The Star of the Game Award trophy was designed by the collaborative efforts of Dallas Stars Chief Operating Officer Jason Farris and Jason Cain of Gemini LSV and is modeled after the Star Portal that the Stars pass through when entering the ice at the beginning of each game at American Airlines Center. The trophy is a 10:1 scale replica of the original Star Portal, and was constructed by Gemini Light Sound Video, the same company that supplied the original. Made from aircraft-grade aluminum and acrylic materials, the trophy is also imbedded with green LED lights. The portal sits atop a metal base, which is also in the shape of a star. Individual nameplates for each winner of the award are fastened along the edges of the base. The Normandy Homes Star of the Game Award stands at 2-foot-2 and weighs 55 pounds, while the metal base measures roughly 29 inches point to point.

Normandy Homes is a luxury new home building company that specializes in quality craftsmanship and design.  Committed to architectural excellence, Normandy Homes is made up of an award winning team of seasoned professionals with many years of home building experience.


Below is the list of past winners of the award:

2012-13:          Kari Lehtonen
2011-12:          Kari Lehtonen
2010-11:          Brad Richards
2009-10:          Brad Richards
2008-09:          Marty Turco
2007-08:          Mike Ribeiro
2006-07:          Mike Modano, Marty Turco
2005-06:          Jason Arnott
2004-05:          ---
2003-04:          Brenden Morrow
2002-03:          Mike Modano, Marty Turco
2001-02:          Mike Modano
2000-01:          Mike Modano
1999-00:          Mike Modano
1998-99:          Mike Modano
1997-98:          Mike Modano
1996-97:          Mike Modano
1995-96:          Mike Modano
1994-95:          Andy Moog
1993-94:          Andy Moog
1992-93:          Russ Courtnall
1991-92:          Mike Modano
1990-91:          Dave Gagner
1989-90:          Jon Casey
1988-89:          Dave Gagner
1987-88:          Dino Ciccarelli
1986-87:          Dino Ciccarelli
1985-86:          Don Beaupre
1984-85:          Steve Payne
1983-84:          Neal Broten
1982-83:          Brian Bellows
1981-82:          Neal Broten
1980-81:          Bobby Smith
1979-80:          Al MacAdam
1978-79:          Bobby Smith
1977-78:          Per-Olov Brasar 

View More