Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Dallas Stars

Dallas Stars Captain Jamie Benn Wins Mike Modano Trophy As Dallas Stars 2015-16 Regular-Season Points Leader

by Dallas Stars Staff / Dallas Stars

Dallas Stars captain Jamie Benn was awarded the Mike Modano Trophy on Saturday night as the team's leading points-getter for the 2015-16 regular season. This marks the second consecutive season and third time in his career the captain has won the award. Benn was presented with the award in a post-game ceremony at American Airlines Center after the Stars' final matchup of the 2015-16 campaign against the Nashville Predators.

Benn, 26, led the Stars with 89 points (41-48=89) in 82 regular-season games to claim the Stars' scoring title. The captain currently ranks second in the NHL in points (89), tied for second in power play goals (17) and ranked third in goals (41), posting new career highs in each category. Benn appeared in all 82 games during the regular season, marking the second consecutive season and the third time in his career that he's appeared in all 82 contests.

Benn recorded a season-long eight-game point streak (8-6=14) from Nov. 12 - 28, and posted a season-high four-point outing (1-3=4) in a 6-5 win on Dec. 8 vs. Carolina. The Stars captain appeared in his 500th career NHL contest on March 22 at Chicago, while he recorded an assist (0-1=1) on Dec. 15 at Columbus to celebrate the 400th point of his NHL career. Benn was named the NHL's First Star for the month of October after posting nine goals and 17 points (9-8=17) in 11 games during the opening month of the season, while he also earned the First Star of the Week award for the week ending Nov. 29 after tallying six points (4-2=6) in three games.

The Victoria, B.C. native was selected by Dallas in the fifth round (129th overall) in the 2007 NHL Draft, Benn has amassed 448 points (192-256=448) in 508 career regular-season games, all as a member of the Stars.


Mike Modano played 21 seasons in the NHL and is the all-time franchise leader in nearly every statistical category, including games played (1,459), goals (557), assists (802), points (1,359), short-handed goals (29), game-winning goals (92) and power play tallies (156). A seven-time NHL All-Star and United States Hockey Hall of Fame inductee, Modano is also the American-born record holder in goals (561) and points (1,374). He won the point-scoring title a franchise record 11 times and was also instrumental in helping the Stars capture the 1999 Stanley Cup.

The Trophy depicts Mike Modano with both of his arms raised in celebration after he just scored a goal. It was sculpted by renowned Texas-sculptor, Bob English, in his workshop in Tool, Texas. The base is made of polished walnut and includes a bronze plate with all 11 seasons Modano captured the point-scoring title for the Stars, another four brass plates on the back with the names of every Stars player in franchise history who finished with the most points prior to Modano and individual name plates of the trophy winners during and since Modano's storied career with the Stars. The body of the sculpture is made of bronze and the stick is sculpted from steel. The entire sculpture rests on a marble slab attached to the wooden base. The Mike Modano Trophy stands at 5-foot-1 from the bottom of the walnut base to the tip and weighs approximately 140-pounds.

Richard Cowan from the Hoka Hey Fine Arts Foundry in Dublin, Texas did the casting, while Jalea Cowan did the engraving for the plates. Lyn Collier was responsible for crafting the base. The entire Mike Modano Trophy was assembled in Stephenville, Texas.


1967-68Wayne Connelly56

1968-69Danny Grant65

1969-70J.P. Parise72

1970-71Jude Drouin68

1971-72Bill Goldsworthy62

1972-73Dennis Hextall82

1973-74Dennis Hextall82

1974-75Dennis Hextall74

1975-76Tim Young51

1976-77Tim Young96

1977-78Roland Eriksson60

1978-79Bobby Smith74

1979-80Al MacAdam93

1980-81Bobby Smith93

1981-82Bobby Smith114

1982-83Neal Broten/Bobby Smith77

1983-84Neal Broten89

1984-85Brian Bellows62

1985-86Neal Broten105

1986-87Dino Ciccarelli103

1987-88Dino Ciccarelli86

1988-89Dave Gagner78

1989-90Brian Bellows99

1990-91Dave Gagner82

1991-92Mike Modano77

1992-93Mike Modano93

1993-94Mike Modano93

1994-95Dave Gagner42

1995-96Mike Modano81

1996-97Mike Modano89

1997-98Joe Nieuwendyk69

1998-99Mike Modano81

1999-2000Mike Modano81

2000-01Mike Modano84

2001-02Mike Modano77

2002-03Mike Modano85

2003-04Bill Guerin69

2005-06Mike Modano77

2006-07Mike Ribeiro59

2007-08Mike Ribeiro83

2008-09Mike Ribeiro78

2009-10Brad Richards91

2010-11Brad Richards77

2011-12Loui Eriksson71

2012-13Jamie Benn33

2013-14Tyler Seguin84

2014-15Jamie Benn87

2015-16Jamie Benn89

View More