Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Dallas Stars

Dallas Stars Captain Jamie Benn Named to NHL Second All-Star Team

by Dallas Stars Staff / Dallas Stars

Dallas Stars captain Jamie Benn was named to the NHL Second All-Star Team on Wednesday night, marking the second consecutive season that Benn has received All-Star honors.

Last season, Benn became the first player in Stars franchise history to be named to the NHL First All-Star Team. The Stars have previously had five players earn All-Star honors, with each being named to the Second All-Star Team (Zubov - 2005-06; Turco, Hatcher - 2002-03; Modano - 1999-2000; Bellows - 1989-90).

Benn captured the Art Ross Trophy this season as the NHL's leading scorer for the 2014-15 regular season, finishing with a career-high 87 points (35-52=87). Benn also established new career-highs in assists (52), goals (35) and power play goals (10) in 2014-15. He was presented with the Art Ross Trophy at the 2015 NHL Awards this evening in Las Vegas, Nevada.

The native of Victoria, British Columbia earned 23 points (12-11=23) in the final 12 games of the regular-season, posting three-or-more points five times over that span, including a four-point (3-1=4) game in the regular-season finale on April 11 against Nashville. The left wing set a career mark with 23 multi-point outings in 2014-15. Benn recorded a season-long eight-game point streak (7-6=13) from Feb. 10 - 24, highlighted by a three-goal performance at St. Louis on Feb. 17 for his first career NHL hat trick. The Stars captain appeared in his 400th career NHL contest on Feb. 14 at Colorado, while he recorded three points (2-1=3), including the 200th assist of his NHL career, on March 23 against Buffalo.

Originally selected by Dallas in the fifth round (129th overall) in the 2007 NHL Draft, Benn has amassed 359 points (151-208=359) in 426 career regular-season games, all as a member of the Stars. The winger won a gold medal with Team Canada at the 2014 Winter Olympic Games in Sochi, Russia. Benn also skated for Team Canada at the 2011 IIHF World Championship, as well as the 2009 IIHF World Junior Championship where he also won gold

Voting for the All-Star Team was conducted by members of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular season.

View More