Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Dallas Stars

Dallas Stars Broadcasters Win Lone Star Emmy

by Staff Writer / Dallas Stars

FRISCO, Texas - The Lone Star Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced on Saturday that Dallas Stars broadcasters Ralph Strangis and Daryl Reaugh were awarded the Emmy as the state's top On-Camera Sports Talent Team.

The award marked the fourth time the duo has won the accolade, and was also the 11th Lone Star Emmy the FOX Sports Southwest Dallas Stars broadcast crew has won since the inception of the Chapter. Strangis and Reaugh were one of four broadcast pairings nominated for the award this year.

Strangis is in his 23rd year with the Stars franchise as the club's play-by-play announcer. The native of Minneapolis, Minn., has earned several accolades in his time with the club, including four Associated Press awards, four Lone Star Emmys and a Dallas Press Club Katie.

Reaugh, completed his 16th season with the club in 2011-12 as the team's color commentator. Aside from his duties with the Stars, Reaugh has showcased his talent to a national audience, and has worked with ABC, ESPN, FOX, NBC Sports Network and CBC's Hockey Night in Canada. He also provided commentary for EA Sports' NHL '98 and NHL '99 video game series.

"The Dallas Stars are extremely proud of Ralph Strangis and Daryl Reaugh for all of their accomplishments," said Dallas Stars President Jim Lites. "This award confirms what many sports fans in the area already know; Ralph and Razor are two of the best broadcasters not only in the world of hockey, but in the realm of all of professional sports."

The Lone Star Emmys are presented by the Lone Star Chapter of the National Television Academy. Entries are judged by peer judging panels from major television markets across the country.

View More