Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Dallas Stars

Dallas Chapter of PHWA Nominates Stars Forward Patrick Eaves for Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

by Dallas Stars Staff / Dallas Stars

The Dallas Chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association (PHWA) is nominating Patrick Eaves as the Stars candidate for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy for the 2014-15 season. The Masterton Trophy is awarded annually to the National Hockey League player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.

Eaves has battled back from several injuries and continues to be an integral part of the Stars lineup. Playing in 42 games, he has tallied 22 points (11-11=22) and is plus-8 while logging 13:27 in ice time. Eaves missed three games in November with a lower body injury, 21 games in December and January with a broken foot, and seven games in February with a concussion.

Eaves also missed almost a year and a half with a broken jaw and concussion as a member of the Detroit Red Wings from 2011-13. He was the Red Wings' nominee for the Masterton Trophy after the 2012-13 season when he battled back to get in the lineup.

The 30-year-old winger is on his fifth NHL team and continues to work hard to overcome every setback, all the while being one of the most positive people in the organization. Eaves has displayed the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey that are the tenets of the Masterton Trophy.


The Masterton Trophy winner is selected from a poll of the 30 chapters of the PHWA at the end of the regular season and a grant from the PHWA is awarded annually to the Bill Masterton Scholarship Fund, based in Bloomington, Minn., in the name of the winner.

The PHWA first presented the Masterton Trophy in 1968 to honor the late Bill Masterton, a player with the Minnesota North Stars, who exhibited the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. Masterton is the only NHL player to die from injuries sustained in a game. He passed away on Jan. 15, 1968.

View More