Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Dallas Stars

Captain Jamie Benn Wins Mike Modano Trophy as Stars Regular-Season Points Leader

by Dallas Stars Staff / Dallas Stars

Dallas Stars captain Jamie Benn was awarded the Mike Modano Trophy on Saturday night as the team's leading points-getter for the 2014-15 regular season. Benn was presented with the award in a post-game ceremony at American Airlines Center after the Stars defeated the Nashville Predators, 4-1 on Saturday.

Benn, 25, led the Stars with 87 points (35-52=87) in 82 regular-season games this season to claim the Stars' scoring title. The captain also posted career-highs in assists (52) and goals (35), ranking first and second on the club, respectively. Benn also established a new career high in time on ice per game during the 2014-15 season, logging an average 19:56 of ice time per game, which paced Stars forwards.

Benn earned 23 points (12-11=23) in the final 12 games of the regular-season, posting three-or-more points five times over that span, including a four-point (3-1=4) game on Saturday to win the trophy. The left wing set a career mark with 23 multi-point outings in 2014-15. Benn recorded a season-long eight-game point streak (7-6=13) from Feb. 10 - 24, highlighted by a three-goal performance at St. Louis on Feb. 17 for his first career NHL hat trick. The Stars captain appeared in his 400th career NHL contest on Feb. 14 at Colorado, while he recorded three points (2-1=3), including the 200th assist of his NHL career, on March 23 against Buffalo.

Originally selected by Dallas in the fifth round (129th overall) in the 2007 NHL Draft, Benn has amassed 359 points (151-208=359) in 426 career regular-season games, all as a member of the Stars. The winger won a gold medal with Team Canada at the 2014 Winter Olympic Games in Sochi, Russia. Benn also skated for Team Canada at the 2011 IIHF World Championship, as well as the 2009 IIHF World Junior Championship where he also won gold.


Mike Modano played 21 seasons in the NHL and is the all-time franchise leader in nearly every statistical category, including games played (1,459), goals (557), assists (802), points (1,359), short-handed goals (29), game-winning goals (92) and power play tallies (156). A seven-time NHL All-Star and United States Hockey Hall of Fame inductee, Modano is also the American-born record holder in goals (561) and points (1,374). He won the point-scoring title a franchise record 11 times and was also instrumental in helping the Stars capture the 1999 Stanley Cup championship.

The Trophy depicts Mike Modano with both of his arms raised in celebration after he just scored a goal. It was sculpted by renowned Texas-sculptor, Bob English, in his workshop in Tool, Texas. The base is made of polished walnut and includes a bronze plate with all 11 seasons Modano captured the point-scoring title for the Stars, another four brass plates on the back with the names of every Stars player in franchise history who finished with the most points prior to Modano and individual name plates of the trophy winners during and since Modano's storied career with the Stars. The body of the sculpture is made of bronze and the stick is sculpted from steel. The entire sculpture rests on a marble slab attached to the wooden base. The Mike Modano Trophy stands at 5-foot-1 from the bottom of the walnut base to the tip and weighs approximately 140-pounds.

Richard Cowan from the Hoka Hey Fine Arts Foundry in Dublin, Texas did the casting, while Jalea Cowan did the engraving for the plates. Lyn Collier was responsible for crafting the base. The entire Mike Modano Trophy was assembled in Stephenville, Texas.



1967-68 Wayne Connelly 56

1968-69 Danny Grant 65

1969-70 J.P. Parise 72

1970-71 Jude Drouin 68

1971-72 Bill Goldsworthy 62

1972-73 Dennis Hextall 82

1973-74 Dennis Hextall 82

1974-75 Dennis Hextall 74

1975-76 Tim Young 51

1976-77 Tim Young 96

1977-78 Roland Eriksson 60

1978-79 Bobby Smith 74

1979-80 Al MacAdam 93

1980-81 Bobby Smith 93

1981-82 Bobby Smith 114

1982-83 Neal Broten / Bobby Smith 77

1983-84 Neal Broten 89

1984-85 Brian Bellows 62

1985-86 Neal Broten 105

1986-87 Dino Ciccarelli 103

1987-88 Dino Ciccarelli 86

1988-89 Dave Gagner 78

1989-90 Brian Bellows 99

1990-91 Dave Gagner 82

1991-92 Mike Modano 77

1992-93 Mike Modano 93

1993-94 Mike Modano 93

1994-95 Dave Gagner 42

1995-96 Mike Modano 81

1996-97 Mike Modano 89

1997-98 Joe Nieuwendyk 69

1998-99 Mike Modano 81

1999-2000 Mike Modano 81

2000-01 Mike Modano 84

2001-02 Mike Modano 77

2002-03 Mike Modano 85

2003-04 Bill Guerin 69

2005-06 Mike Modano 77

2006-07 Mike Ribeiro 59

2007-08 Mike Ribeiro 83

2008-09 Mike Ribeiro 78

2009-10 Brad Richards 91

2010-11 Brad Richards 77

2011-12 Loui Eriksson 71

2012-13 Jamie Benn 33

2013-14 Tyler Seguin 84

View More