Skip to main content
The Official Site of the San Jose Sharks

Vezina Award Winner to be Revealed Saturday

by Staff Writer / San Jose Sharks

CHICAGO -- As the Chicago Blackhawks and Boston Bruins try to rehydrate, recover and gather their emotions after their marathon Game 1 in the Stanley Cup Final, the hockey world will be allowed the opportunity to quickly swing its attention to a different set of Hall of Fame hardware that is shined up and ready to be handed out.

All 13 of the NHL postseason awards will be distributed before the opening faceoff in Game 2 of the Stanley Cup Final on Saturday at United Center (8 p.m. ET; NBCSN, CBC, RDS).

The winners of the Bill Masterton Memorial, Frank J. Selke, King Clancy and Lady Byng trophies, the Jack Adams Award, the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award, the NHL Foundation Player Award and the NHL General Manager of the Year Award will be revealed Friday beginning at 5 p.m. ET on NHL Network in the United States and Canada. The program will be streamed live online at

Beginning at 7 p.m. ET Saturday, NBC Sports Network and CBC will join forces to co-host a live pregame television special in which the winners of the Hart Memorial, Calder Memorial, James Norris Memorial and Vezina trophies, along with the Ted Lindsay Award, will be revealed. The show can be seen on NBCSN in the United States and CBC in Canada.

The biggest question heading into awards season is who will win the Hart Trophy as the NHL's most valuable player for the 2012-13 season? The finalists are Pittsburgh Penguins captain Sidney Crosby, Washington Capitals captain Alex Ovechkin and New York Islanders center John Tavares.

Crosby, who won the Hart Trophy in 2007, looked like he was going to be a runaway winner three-quarters of the way into the 48-game season, but he missed the final 12 games due to a jaw injury. He still finished tied with Ovechkin for third in the NHL with 56 points on 15 goals and 41 assists in 36 games.

Ovechkin looked like he had no chance at any postseason honors a third of the way through the season, but he rediscovered his MVP form and put up 46 points, including 21 goals, over his final 32 games to help the Capitals win the Southeast Division. He won the Rocket Richard Trophy with 32 goals and is in line to win the Hart Trophy for the third time in his career. He won in 2008 and 2009.

Tavares, a first-time finalist for the Hart Trophy, led the Islanders into the Stanley Cup Playoffs for the first time since 2007 with 47 points on 28 goals and 19 assists.

Crosby and Ovechkin join Art Ross Trophy (awarded to the League's leading scorer) winner Martin St. Louis (60 points) as finalists for the Ted Lindsay Award, which goes to the most outstanding player as voted on by the players. St. Louis could also win the Lady Byng Trophy, which is awarded to the player who best demonstrates sportsmanship and gentlemanly play, for the third time in his career. He's up against second-time finalist Matt Moulson of the Islanders and first-time finalist Patrick Kane of the Blackhawks.

In addition, Crosby is up for the Masterton Award for perseverance and dedication to hockey. The other finalists are Minnesota Wild goalie Josh Harding and Bruins defenseman Adam McQuaid.

New York Rangers goalie Henrik Lundqvist is in line to win the Vezina Trophy as the League's top goaltender for a second straight season. First-time finalists Sergei Bobrovsky of the Columbus Blue Jackets and Antti Niemi of the San Jose Sharks are his competition. Bobrovsky nearly led the Blue Jackets to the playoffs with a 2.00 goals-against average and .932 save percentage.

There will be a first-time winner of the Norris Trophy, awarded to the League's top defenseman. P.K. Subban (Montreal Canadiens), Ryan Suter (Minnesota Wild) and Kris Letang (Pittsburgh Penguins) are first-time finalists.

The three finalists for the Calder Trophy as the League's best rookie would make up one heck of a line if they were on the same team. It would be Florida Panthers center Jonathan Huberdeau in the middle of Blackhawks left wing Brandon Saad and Canadiens right wing Brendan Gallagher.

Huberdeau's 31 points tied him with Edmonton Oilers forward Nail Yakupov for most among rookies this season. Gallagher had 28 points, and Saad had 27 playing mostly on a line with Jonathan Toews and Marian Hossa.

Boston Bruins center Patrice Bergeron is in line to win the Selke Trophy for the second straight season, but he'll need more votes than three-time winner Pavel Datsyuk of the Detroit Red Wings and Toews, who is a finalist for the second time in his career.

Toews is also a finalist for the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award along with Los Angeles Kings captain Dustin Brown and Ottawa Senators captain Daniel Alfredsson.

Bruce Boudreau (Anaheim Ducks) and Joel Quenneville (Chicago) hope to join the company of Scotty Bowman, Pat Quinn, Jacques Lemaire and Pat Burns as coaches who have won the Jack Adams Award with two franchises. Boudreau won in 2008 as the coach in Washington, and Quenneville won in 2000 as the coach of the St. Louis Blues.

Senators coach Paul MacLean is also a finalist -- and possibly the favorite -- for the Jack Adams Award.

The League will be handing out the NHL GM of the Year Award for the fourth time, and there will be a first-time winner among Bob Murray (Anaheim), Marc Bergevin (Montreal) and Ray Shero (Pittsburgh). All are first-time finalists, and Bergevin is coming off his first season as a general manager in the NHL.

Follow Dan Rosen on Twitter at: @drosennhl

Author: Dan Rosen | Senior Writer

View More