Skip to main content
The Official Site of the San Jose Sharks

USA Hockey's Top 10 Moments

by San Jose Sharks Staff / San Jose Sharks
10 Great Moments in U.S. Hockey History

1960 – U.S. Olympic team defeated Canada (2-1), the Soviet Union (3-2) and the Czech Republic en route to its first-ever Olympic hockey gold medal in Squaw Valley.

1967 – NHL expansion added six new franchises -- California/Oakland, Los Angeles, Minnesota, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh and St. Louis -- doubling the League’s size to 12 teams.

1980 – Known as the ‘Miracle on Ice’, the U.S. Olympic team won the gold medal in Lake Placid. 13 members of the U.S. team went on to play in the NHL -- Bill Baker, Neal Broten, Dave Christian, Steve Christoff, Jim Craig, Steve Janaszak, Mark Johnson, Rob McClanahan, Ken Morrow, Jack O’Callahan, Mark Pavelich, Mike Ramsey and Dave Silk.

1983 – Brian Lawton (Brunswick, New Jersey) became the first U.S.-born player to be selected first overall in the NHL Entry Draft when the Minnesota North Stars drafted him in 1983.

1988 – On August 9th, the Edmonton Oilers traded Wayne Gretzky to the Los Angeles Kings, jump-starting the growth and popularity of hockey, not only in Southern California, but also throughout the U.S.

1994 – The New York Rangers, led by captain Mark Messier, captured a thrilling Game Seven victory over the Vancouver Canucks to win the Stanley Cup in New York on June 14.

1996 – The U.S., led by Brett Hull, John LeClair and Mike Richter, defeated Canada and won the first World Cup of Hockey.

1997 – Joe Mullen became the first U.S.-born player to score 500 goals on March 14. Mullen has since been joined in the U.S. 500-goal club by Mike Modano (522) and Jeremy Roenick (504).

2004 – The U.S. won its first World Junior Championship with a come-from-behind 4-3 win over Canada. 15 members of the gold medal-winning team have played in the NHL during the 2007-08 season -- David Booth (FLA), Matt Carle (SJ), Jake Dowell (CHI), Patrick Eaves (OTT), Dan Fritsche (CBJ), Ryan Kesler (VAN), Greg Moore (NYR), Brady Murray (LA), Patrick O’Sullivan (LA), Zach Parise (NJ), Drew Stafford (BUF), Brett Sterling (ATL), Mark Stuart (BOS), Ryan Suter (NSH) and James Wisniewski (CHI).

2007 – Mike Modano took over the all-time U.S. points lead, eclipsing Phil Housley, with his 1,233th career point -- a shorthanded goal at San Jose on November 7.

View More