Skip to main content
The Official Site of the San Jose Sharks

Sharks Winning Streak: Behind The Numbers

by San Jose Sharks Staff / San Jose Sharks
The San Jose Sharks started a franchise record ten-game winning streak at Philadelphia on Feb. 21 with a 3-1 victory. As noted by Media Relations guru Tom Holy, some of the significant numbers have made both franchise and League history. Below are some key figures from the streak:

  • It bests the team’s previous high that spanned eight games from April 3, 2006 at Dallas thru April 15, 2006 vs. Anaheim.
Of the team’s 10 straight wins, seven were in regulation, two were in a shootout and one was in overtime.
  • It is the longest winning streak in the League this season.
The Sharks surpassed both the Detroit Red Wings and the New Jersey Devils who each rattled off winning streaks of nine games earlier in the season.
  • It is the third time in franchise history the Sharks have gone 10 games without a regulation loss. The last time was March 4, 2007 at Dallas thru March 22, 2007 at Atlanta (8-0-2).
San Jose nearly achieved this mark earlier in the 2007-08 season when they went nine games (7-0-2) without a regulation loss before dropping a 3-5 decision to the Phoenix Coyotes on Jan. 15, 2008.
  • The Sharks have won eight of the games on the road. It is the second time that the Sharks have had a winning streak of eight or more games on the road (10, Nov. 14 at Dallas thru Dec. 31 at Minnesota), the first time in League history that a team has had two road winning streaks of eight games or more in the same season.
During San Jose’s 10-game road winning streak, the Sharks went an incredible 14 road games without a regulation loss (12-0-2). Anaheim was the only team to take two points from San Jose, first in a shootout on Nov. 9, 2007, then again in overtime on Jan. 13, 2008.
  • The Sharks are out-scoring their opponents 31-17 during the stretch, allowing more than two goals in a game only once (6-4 W vs. Montreal on 3/3/08).
Conversely, the Sharks have scored more than two goals in a game six times during that stretch.
  • The Sharks are out-shooting their opponents 32.5 – 23.2 during the stretch. In fact, the Sharks have out-shot their opponent by 10 or more in six of the games. During the ten games, they have out-shot the opponent nine times and tied the opponent once (22-22, at Detroit on 2/29/08).
San Jose’s largest shot differential came in the second game of their current winning streak, out-shooting the Penguins by 16 shots, 37-21.
  • The Sharks have scored the game’s first goal eight times during the stretch. Jonathan Cheechoo has done it three times.
In total, San Jose has scored the game’s first goal in 17 of the team’s past 18 road games. Their streak of scoring the first goal in 16 consecutive road games, an NHL record, was snapped in Minnesota on March 9, 2008.
  • The Sharks made up a season-high 11-point deficit to the Dallas Stars in the Pacific Division since Feb. 29 to overtake first place.
Entering Wednesday night’s play, San Jose maintained one- and four-point leads over the Dallas Stars and the Anaheim Ducks respectively for the Pacific Division lead. In addition, the Sharks have played two fewer games than both Dallas and Anaheim.


In a collective effort to support youth working towards the goal of higher education, Bay Area professional sports franchises, including the Golden State Warriors, Oakland Athletics, Oakland Raiders, San Francisco 49ers, San Francisco Giants and San Jose Sharks, have teamed up for the 12th year of the Bay Area All-Star Scholarship Team (BAASST). As part of this program, the first of its kind among professional sports teams, five high school seniors have been selected to receive a $3,000 scholarship to be applied toward their college education.
Each Bay Area sports franchise will recognize this year's five Bay Area All-Star Scholarship Team recipients in a ceremony this year. The first ceremony is set for Sunday, March 16 when the recipients will be honored during a special in-game ceremony during the San Jose Sharks vs. Edmonton Oilers game at HP Pavilion at San Jose. A representative from each Bay Area sports organization will be in attendance to participate in each ceremony.
The 2008 BAASST recipients are Joshua Ortiz of De Anza High School in Richmond (Oakland A's), Lauren Hunt of Calistoga Junior Senior High School in Calistoga (Oakland Raiders), Jasmine Nachtigall of Hillsdale High School in San Mateo (San Francisco 49ers), Elaine Chow of Galileo Academy in San Francisco (San Francisco Giants) and Mohamed Abdalla of Willow Glen High School in San Jose (San Jose Sharks).
Students were selected from high schools within nine Bay Area counties, Alameda, Contra Costa, San Francisco, Marin, Napa, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano and Sonoma. Each high school was provided with information about this scholarship and was encouraged to nominate candidates that met the following criteria: a minimum grade point average of 3.0, displays leadership qualities in the classroom and/or inspirational qualities on the athletic field and demonstrates the value of education, good work ethic and community outreach.

The Sharks and their 10-game winning streak return to HP Pavilion on Friday for a match-up against the St. Louis Blues. San Jose will look for the season sweep at 7:30 PM (Pacific). The game will be broadcast on FSN+, KFOX 98.5 FM, Sharks Radio Network Affiliates and
View More