Skip to main content
The Official Site of the San Jose Sharks

Several Jr. Sharks Selected to North American Prospects Hockey League All-PHL Teams

by Staff Writer / San Jose Sharks

SAN JOSE, California
– At the conclusion of the 2011-12 North American Prospects Hockey League (NAPHL) season, several San Jose Jr. Sharks players at the 14U, 16U, and 18U AAA levels were honored with selections to various All-PHL teams.

Selected to the 14U All-PHL First Team was forward Lucas Semkiw and defenseman Trevor Weinstock. Semkiw averaged over a point-per-game in NAPHL play with six goals and 11 assists in 14 games, leading the team with 17 points. He finished fifth in the league in scoring. Weinstock posted one goal, two assists and 10 penalty minutes. Forward Aaron Burden and goaltender Devin Cooley were named All-PHL Second Team. Burden led his team in goals with 10 and also had five assists for 15 points, finishing in a tie for seventh in the league. Cooley posted a 4-4-0 record with two shutouts, a 2.25 goals-against-average (GAA), and a .897 save percentage. The team reached the NAPHL finals where they fell to the St. Louis Selects.

For the 16U AAA Jr. Sharks, defenseman Ji Young Li earned All-PHL First Team honors. Li was second among all NAPHL defensemen in scoring with 21 points (4-17=21) and tied for 13th overall in the league and second on his team. All-PHL Second team honorees were forward Matt Woodley and goaltender Sean Tannenbaum. Woodley led his team in scoring with 23 points (10-13=23) and tied for eighth in league. Tannenbaum was 8-0-1 in regular-season play with a league fourth-best 2.00 GAA and a .925 save percentage. The 16U team captured the NAPHL regular-season title with a 15-1-2 record and was undefeated in nine home games.

Additionally, nine players across all three age groups were selected to their respective All-PHL Academic Teams. To qualify for an All-PHL Academic Team, student-athletes must have a grade-point average of at least 3.5 for the 2011-12 school year and be nominated by their coaches.

For the 14U AAA Jr. Sharks, F Esau Kang, D Jake Stom, and F Felix Takasci-Nagy were chosen. On the 16U AAA team, F Cameron Lafleur, D Ben Messick, and F Oliver Takacsi-Nagy were honored. At the 18U AAA level, goaltender Aaron Kahn, D Dave Radke, and forward Dylan Vander Esch were selected.

About the NAPHL
The NAPHL, which will be celebrating its fourth season in 2012-13, is composed of Midget Major (18U) and Midget Minor (16U) teams from across North America that compete at the Tier I AAA level. The PHL continues to establish itself as the premiere training ground for development and exposure. Not only have players in the PHL received year-long recognition from the NHL Central Scouting Bureau, dozens have received scholarships to NCAA Division I schools and hundreds more have been drafted and tendered by North American Hockey League (NAHL) and United States Hockey League (USHL) teams. The PHL, which is sanctioned by USA Hockey, utilizes the USA Hockey Officiating Development Program and is designed to maximize the exposure of all the participants through the NAHL's high-profile recruiting events which attract hundreds of college, junior and professional scouts. The PHL provides an organized and competitive experience with an unrivaled scouting presence guaranteed to benefit all of the participating student-athletes and programs. For more information on the PHL, visit

View More