Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the San Jose Sharks

Rookie Tournament Roster Announced

by Staff Writer / San Jose Sharks

Sharks right wing Benn Ferriero will compete in the Young Stars Tournament

Thirty-four prospects from the Sharks organization have been named to the rookie team that will participate in the Young Stars Tournament in Penticton, British Columbia from September 12-16.

Single game tickets and day passes for the tournament will go on sale Monday, August 16 at 10:00 AM. Sharks fans can purchase tickets to see San Jose battle Anaheim (Sept. 12 at 7:30 PM), Vancouver (Sept. 13 at 7:30 PM) and Edmonton (Sept. 15 at 7:30 PM).

The eight-game tournament will take place at the South Okanagan Events Center and feature players from the Sharks, Vancouver Canucks, Anaheim Ducks, Calgary Flames and Edmonton Oilers. A total of 16 NHL first round draft picks, seven players that appeared in the Final of the 2010 World Junior Championships, and the 2009 and 2010 CHL players of the year are all scheduled to play for their respective teams.

Notable prospects named to the tournament’s rosters include Taylor Doherty, Nick Petrecki, Mikael Backlund, Jordan Eberle, Emerson Etem, Cam Fowler, Taylor Hall, Cody Hodgson, Magnus Paajarvi, Kyle Palmieri, Mitch Wahl, and Jordan Schroeder.

For the complete Sharks Rookie Tournament roster,
click here (PDF).

Single game tickets will be available for $12, plus applicable fees, or day passes (access to all games on the given day) will be available for $20, plus applicable fees, beginning Monday, August 16. A special '2-for-1 nooner' will take place on September 16 with all tickets for the game between the Flames and Canucks being sold for just $12 per pair. Limited tournament packages, which include a ticket to each of the eight games, will be available for purchase, starting at $66 plus applicable fees, until Monday, August 16 at 10:00am.

Tournament ticket packages and single game tickets are available for purchase online at, by phone at 1-877-763-2849 or in person at the South Okanagan Events Centre box office. Game dates, times and opponents are subject to change.

Young Stars Tournament*

Game 1 Vancouver vs Edmonton Sept. 12 4:00 PM
Game 2 San Jose vs. Anaheim Sept. 12 7:30 PM
Game 3 Anaheim vs. Calgary Sept. 13 4:00 PM
Game 4 San Jose vs. Vancouver Sept. 13 7:30 PM
Game 5 Calgary vs. Edmonton Sept. 14 7:30 PM
Game 6 Anaheim vs. Vancouver Sept. 15 4:00 PM
Game 7 Edmonton vs. San Jose Sept. 15 7:30 PM
Game 8 Calgary vs. Vancouver Sept. 16 12:00 PM

*Game dates, times and opponents subject to change.

View More