Skip to main content
The Official Site of the San Jose Sharks

Robinson Named to Ontario Sports Hall of Fame

by Staff Writer / San Jose Sharks

SAN JOSE, CA - San Jose Sharks Associate Coach Larry Robinson has been named to the Ontario Sports Hall of Fame (OSHF), according to an announcement by Bruce Prentice, chair/president of the OSHF. The induction ceremony will be held at a yet-to-be-determined location in Sept. 2014.

Robinson, a native of Winchester, Ontario, played his junior hockey in Brockville and Kitchener, Ontario, prior to being drafted 20th overall by Montreal in the 1971 NHL Amateur Draft.

"It's an honor to be included in the 2014 induction class of the Ontario Sports Hall of Fame," said Robinson. "Ontario was where my love of the game of hockey began and I look back fondly on my days playing in Brockville and Kitchener. I would like to share this honor with all of my family and friends. I wish I could be there today with the other nominees but would like to express my deepest thanks to Bruce Prentice, the Executive Committee and all of the Ontario Sports Hall of Fame board members for this great recognition."

Inducted as a player into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1995, Robinson spent 20 NHL seasons with the Montreal Canadiens and Los Angeles Kings. He twice won the James Norris Trophy (1977 and 1980) as the NHL's most outstanding defenseman and won the Conn Smythe Trophy (1978) as the most valuable player in the Stanley Cup Playoffs.

Robinson won six Stanley Cups as a player with Montreal (1973, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979 and 1986) and shares the NHL record for consecutive playoff seasons (20, shared with Nicklas Lidstrom), 17 of them with the Canadiens. In total, his name appears on the Stanley Cup nine times as a player, head coach and assistant coach.

The Ontario Sports Hall of Fame is "a volunteer driven non-profit organization devoted to honoring the Province of Ontario's greatest athletes, officials and administrators, past or present, amateur or professional who have become icons in Canadian Sports." In addition to Robinson, the 2014 induction class includes: Dick Duff, Tony Gabriel, Scott Goodyear, Joe Nieuwendyk and Herb Carnegie. In addition to the inductees, the organization will also honor four award winners: Michael Burgess, Tom Cheek, Milos Raonic and Babe Ruth, at the ceremony.

View More