Skip to main content
The Official Site of the San Jose Sharks

No Hardware Comes Sharks Way

by San Jose Sharks Staff / San Jose Sharks
LAS VEGAS -- The NHL awards show didn’t provide any hardware for the Sharks players this year. Jed Ortmeyer was a finalist for the Masterton Trophy, but that went to Washington Capitals goaltender Jose Theodore.

When it came time for the NHL’s First and Second All-Star Team picks, no Sharks were named. Joe Thornton finished fifth among centers, Patrick Marleau finished 11th among right wings and Dany Heatley split votes, ranking fourth among right wingers and eighth among left wingers.

Dan Boyle finished sixth among blueliners and Evgeni Nabokov was fourth among the goaltenders.


Vancouver Canucks center Henrik Sedin, whose career season powered the Canucks to a second consecutive Northwest Division title, became the first player in franchise history to capture the Hart Trophy as the National Hockey League's Most Valuable Player at the 2010 NHL Awards at the Palms Hotel in Las Vegas.

Sedin garnered 46 first-place votes among the 133 ballots cast and accumulated 894 points to edge the two-time defending Hart Trophy winner Alex Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals, who was the top selection on 40 ballots and earned 834 points.

Sedin flourished in 2009-10 despite having to play 19 games without his twin brother and career-long linemate Daniel, who missed a large chunk of the season with a broken foot. With 112 points – 30 more than his previous career-high – Henrik became the first player in franchise history to win the Art Ross Trophy as NHL scoring champion. Sedin easily led the League with 83 assists, 14 more than runner-up Joe Thornton of San Jose, and ranked eighth overall in plus-minus with a +35 rating. Five of Sedin’s career-high 29 goals were game-winners.

Two members of the Northeast Division champion Buffalo Sabres were victorious tonight. Ryan Miller captured his first Vezina Trophy as the League's top goaltender after setting a franchise record and ranking fourth among NHL goaltenders with 41 wins; placing second in the League in goals-against average (2.22) and save percentage (.929); and tying a career high with five shutouts.

Miller also received the NHL Foundation Player Award, recognizing an NHL player who applies the core values of hockey -- commitment, perseverance and teamwork -- to enrich the lives of people in his community. The NHL Foundation will present $25,000 to Miller’s Steadfast Foundation.

The Sabres' 6'8", 222-lb. defenseman Tyler Myers captured the Calder Trophy as the NHL's outstanding rookie. Myers, 20, led the Sabres in ice time per game (23:44), shared second place on the club in plus-minus (+13) and was fifth in scoring (11-37--48).
Two weeks to the day after lifting the Stanley Cup in celebration of his club's first championship since 1961, Duncan Keith of the Chicago Blackhawks captured the Norris Trophy as the NHL's top defenseman in his first year as a finalist. Keith, who logged more ice time than any NHL player in the regular season (2,180:34), registered career highs in goals (14), assists (55) and points (69) and posted a +21 rating.

Dave Tippett of the Phoenix Coyotes was a runaway winner of the Jack Adams Award as the NHL’s top coach in voting by members of the NHL Broadcasters' Association. Hired just days before the start of the regular season, Tippett led the Coyotes to the Stanley Cup Playoffs for the first time since 2002 by posting a 50-27-5 record for 107 points. The club posted an NHL-best 28-point gain over its 2008-09 total, edging Colorado's 26-point improvement, and set franchise records for wins and points in a season.

Detroit Red Wings center Pavel Datsyuk won his third consecutive Frank Selke Trophy as the League’s outstanding defensive forward. Datsyuk edged Vancouver Canucks center Ryan Kesler 688-655 in the closest race of 2009-10 NHL Awards. Datsyuk led the NHL in takeaways for the third time in the past four seasons with a career-high 132 and ranked second on the Red Wings in plus-minus with a +17 rating.

Datsyuk's bid for an unprecedented fifth consecutive Lady Byng Memorial Trophy was denied by Tampa Bay Lightning right wing Martin St. Louis, who had finished second to Datsyuk in each of the past three years. Awarded for demonstrating skill and sportsmanship, St. Louis ranked sixth in the League in scoring with 94 points, the second-highest total of his 11-year NHL career. His 12 penalty minutes were the fewest among the League’s top 50 scorers.

Washington Capitals goaltender Jose Theodore received the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy for perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. Theodore had to deal with some adversity on the ice at the end of last season, but that was forgotten when his infant son Chace passed away last summer from complications stemming from his premature birth. Theodore not only regained the starting job, he had his best season since winning the Hart and Vezina Trophies in 2002, capped by a 20-0-3 run over the final three months. Of far greater importance was the way he handled himself in the dressing room, with fans and the media, and with his new charity "Saves for Kids" which benefits the NICU unit of the hospital Chace spent his entire brief life in.

Other honorees included Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby and Tampa Bay Lightning center Steven Stamkos, who each received his first Maurice Richard Trophy as the NHL goal-scoring leaders with 51 apiece. Crosby and Stamkos prevailed in a thrilling three-way race with Washington's Alex Ovechkin for the title, the outcome of which was still in doubt in the waning seconds of the regular season.
Crosby and captain Shane Doan of the Phoenix Coyotes were honored tonight for their outstanding leadership and community service. Crosby received the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award, while Doan accepted the King Clancy Memorial Trophy.

New Jersey Devils goaltender Martin Brodeur received the William Jennings Trophy as the goaltender on the club allowing the fewest goals during the regular season. Brodeur appeared in 77 of New Jersey's 82 games this season as the Devils finished with 191 goals against, nine fewer than the Boston Bruins. Brodeur's five Jennings wins match the total of Hall of Fame goaltender Patrick Roy for the most among all goaltenders since the award was introduced in 1981-82.

The Professional Hockey Writers' Association (PHWA) cast ballots for the Hart, Norris, Selke, Lady Byng, Calder and Masterton Trophies. The 30 NHL General Managers voted on the Vezina Trophy. The NHL Broadcasters' Association (NHLBA) submitted votes for the Jack Adams Award. Voting for these awards was conducted at the conclusion of the regular season and tabulated by the accounting firm Ernst & Young with the exception of the Masterton Trophy, which was tabulated by the PHWA

View More