Skip to main content
The Official Site of the San Jose Sharks

Nabokov and Toskala Named Seagate Technology "Sharks Players of the Month"

by Staff Writer / San Jose Sharks
Sharks Goaltenders Nabokov and Toskala Earn Co-Honors For November
SeagateThe San Jose Sharks announced today that goaltenders Evgeni Nabokov and Vesa Toskala have been selected as the Seagate Technology “Sharks Players of the Month” for the month of October. The award will be presented to both players prior to the Sharks game against the Colorado Avalanche tonight.
Nabokov and Toskala are second in the chase for the William M. Jennings awarded to the goaltenders for the team with the lowest goals-against average.  Through 28 games played, the two netminders have tandemed to post a 2.10 GAA and a .923 save percentage (2nd, NHL).
Toskala posted a 7-1 record in eight appearances, along with a 1.80 goals-against average and a .939 save percentage during the month of November.  The native of Tampere, Finland posted a shutout on Nov. 28 at St. Louis and also played a perfect 40 minutes in relief of the injured Nabokov in a 2-1 win at Phoenix on Nov. 11.  Currently, his 1.98 goals-against average is second in the NHL and .929 save percentage is third in the NHL.
Nabokov earned a 4-2 mark in seven appearances, along with a 2.06 goals-against average and a .929 save percentage.  The Sharks all-time franchise goaltending leader in games played and wins added his 30th career shutout (also a franchise record) on Nov. 25 against the New Jersey Devils.  With three shutouts this season, Nabokov is tied for second in the NHL.
Nabokov has previously won the award five times:  Oct. 2000, Dec, 2000, Nov. 2001, Feb 2002, and Dec. 2003.  Toskala is a previous three-time winner:  Nov. 2003, Feb. 2006 and March 2006, when he became the first player in franchise history to earn the award in consecutive months.
Established in the 1996-97 season, the Seagate Technology “Sharks Player of the Month” program honors the Sharks player(s) who have contributed most to the team’s success each month.  Seagate Technology will donate $2,500 on behalf of the player(s) to The Sharks Foundation.  In addition, one player will be selected as the Seagate Technology “Sharks Player of the Year” at the conclusion of the season and Seagate Technology will donate $5,000 on his behalf to The Sharks Foundation.  Seagate Technology has donated more than $220,000 to The Sharks Foundation since the program's inception.
“Seagate has made social responsibility one of the values that forms the foundation of our business and we take pride in the thousands of Seagate employees who convert our social responsibility beliefs into action,” said Bill Watkins, CEO, Seagate Technology.  “The more than 2,000 Bay Area employees of Seagate understand and appreciate the commitment of like-minded organizations such as The Sharks Foundation, whose programming platform touches lives throughout Santa Clara and Santa Cruz counties.  As a long-time partner of the team, we are proud to continue our support as they continue to offer timely and meaningful solutions for those in need.”
About Seagate
Seagate is the worldwide leader in the design, manufacturing and marketing of hard disc drives, providing products for a wide-range of Enterprise, Desktop, Mobile Computing and Consumer Electronics applications. Seagate's business model leverages technology leadership and world-class manufacturing to deliver industry-leading innovation and quality to its global customers and to be the low cost producer in all markets in which it participates. The company is committed to providing award-winning products, customer support and reliability to meet the world's growing demand for information storage. Seagate can be found around the globe and at
1997-98 2001-02
October 1997 Bill Houlder October 2001 Vincent Damphousse
November 1997 Marco Sturm November 2001 Evgeni Nabokov
December 1997 Mike Vernon December 2001 Mike Ricci
January 1998 Mike Rathje January 2002 Brad Stuart
February 1998 None – Olympics February 2002 Evgeni Nabokov
March 1998 Jeff Friesen March 2002 Scott Thornton
1998-99 2002-03
October 1998 Marco Sturm October 2002 Vincent Damphousse
November 1998 Jeff Friesen November 2002 Patrick Marleau
December 1998 Mike Ricci December 2002 Teemu Selanne
January 1999 Owen Nolan January 2003 Owen Nolan
February 1999 Mike Vernon February 2003 Scott Hannan
March 1999 Steve Shields    
1999-00 October 2003 Scott Hannan
October 1999 Owen Nolan,  November 2003 Vesa Toskala
  Steve Shields December 2003 Patrick Marleau,
November 1999 Vincent Damphousse   Evgeni Nabokov
December 1999 Owen Nolan January 2004 Mike Rathje
January 2000 Mike Ricci February 2004 Marco Sturm
February 2000 Brad Stuart March 2004 Jonathan Cheechoo
March 2000 Vincent Damphousse    
2000-01 October 2005 Kyle McLaren
October 2000 Evgeni Nabokov November 2005 Patrick Marleau
November 2000 Vincent Damphousse December 2005 Joe Thornton
December 2000 Evgeni Nabokov January 2006 Jonathan Cheechoo
January 2001 Owen Nolan February 2006 Vesa Toskala
February 2001 Niklas Sundstrom March 2006 Vesa Toskala
March 2001 Mike Ricci April 2006 Joe Thornton
October 2006 Milan Michalek
    November 2006 Evgeni Nabokov,
      Vesa Toskala
View More