Skip to main content
The Official Site of the San Jose Sharks

Monday Mailbag - 2/20/2012

by Sarah Peters / San Jose Sharks

Here is The Daily Chomp's Monday Mailbag answering your questions sent in by Twitter (tweet @SanJoseSharks using #AskSJS), Facebook, or email.

Q: When a team scores on a delayed penalty, is it considered a power play goal or even strength? Also, if they score on a delayed penalty, do they still go on the power play?
– Johnnie H.

TDC: In the Sharks 4-3 loss to the Calgary Flames on February 8, 2012 Logan Couture scored at 6:29 in the second period. Couture scored his 23rd goal of the season during a delayed penalty when he beat Flames goaltender Miikka Kiprusoff with a wrist shot from the top of the circle.

Looking at the stat sheet for that goal, you can see that the skaters on the ice for the Sharks were numbers 3, 12, 19, 29, 39, 88; number 31 (Antti Niemi) was not on the ice. The play was recorded as an even strength goal because each team had six total skaters on the ice and San Jose did not have a man-advantage.

Rule 15.2 Calling a Minor Penalty states - If the penalty to be imposed is a minor penalty and a goal is scored on the play by the non-offending side, the minor penalty shall not be imposed but major and match penalties shall be imposed in the normal manner regardless of whether or not a goal is scored.

In this case, Couture scored before the Flames touched the puck and the minor penalty was not imposed.

What's the lastest on Vlasic and Pavelski after their injuries vs Detroit?
- Scott D.

In Sunday morning's game vs Detroit, defensemen Marc-Edouard Vlasic  and forward Joe Pavelski were each hurt blocking shots on successive shifts. CSN beat writer Kevin Kurz reported Monday that Vlasic could play on Tuesday vs Columbus. Vlasic took a puck to the face that required three stitches and gave him a "sizeable" mark under his eye. He said, “I would love to play but if I’m not 100 percent I don’t want to risk it, and I don’t want to risk it for the team, as well...I’ll keep icing it, and hopefully by tomorrow it will feel better." Regarding Pavelski, Kurz reported that Pavs was "feeling no ill effects from the incident."

Have any of the players had an embarassing moment on the ice in-game or during practice?
- Crystal S.

A few weeks ago, Sharks Radio Color Commentator Jamie Baker explained his embarassing hockey story in his Friday's Baker's Dozen:

"My pre-game skate story isn’t as gruesome as Taylor Hall’s but it was embarrassing. It was around my 10th game in the NHL and I was playing for the Quebec Nordiques. We had a home game at Le Colisee against Brett Hull and the St. Louis Blues. The previous game I had taken a slapshot in the foot and the trainers attached a plastic covering for the side of my skate – not quite like the ones we see today.

Problem was, when I did a tight turn to my left the plastic touched the ice. So in my first loop in warm-up, I was getting a good jump going. And as I was turning between our blueline and the redline I fell and spun out of control while on my knees. Good fresh ice means good sliding ice. I must have spun around six or seven times while Blues players jumped out of my way, until I finally stopped inside the faceoff circle in their end. I’m sure the Blues were like “Who is that Baker guy, and why is he in the NHL?”

View More