Skip to main content
The Official Site of the San Jose Sharks

Mitchell Is PlayStation ROTY

by San Jose Sharks Staff / San Jose Sharks

The San Jose Sharks announced today that forward Torrey Mitchell has been selected as this year’s PlayStation “Sharks Rookie of the Year” in voting among a panel of Bay Area media. Mitchell was honored with the award in a videotaped presentation that will be shown during tonight’s game against the Los Angeles Kings at HP Pavilion at San Jose. On behalf of the winner, Sony Computer Entertainment will present a check for $2,500 to the Sharks Foundation and Mitchell will receive a PlayStation 3 with a VIP pack of games.

Mitchell, 23, is one of just four players to appear in every game for the Sharks this season. In 79 games, he’s become a fixture on the Sharks third line along with Mike Grier and Patrick Rissmiller posting 20 points (10-10=20). Among League rookies, he is tied for 14th in goals (10) and tied for first in both shorthanded points (3) and shorthanded goals (2).

Mitchell ranks eighth among all forwards and eighth among all rookies with 63 blocked shots. In addition to his third line role, Mitchell is second on the Sharks among forwards in shorthanded time on ice per game (2:36).

The five-foot-11, 190-pound forward from Greenfield Park, Quebec appeared in his first training camp this fall, after playing just 11 professional games with the Worcester Sharks last season, impressed enough that the 23-year old earned a roster spot on a Stanley Cup-challenging Sharks team.

Mitchell was originally selected by the Sharks in the fourth round (126th overall) of the 2004 NHL Entry Draft.

The Sharks Foundation was established in 1994 to meet the educational, social and cultural needs of our community. The Foundation offers unique resources and financial assistance to organizations to enhance the lives of local youth and other community activities. 

2007-08 Torrey Mitchell
2006-07 Marc-Edouard Vlasic
2005-06 Milan Michalek
2003-04 Tom Preissing
2002-03 Jim Fahey
2001-02 Matt Bradley
2000-01 Evgeni Nabokov
1999-00 Brad Stuart
1998-99 Alexander Korolyuk
1997-98 Patrick Marleau, Marco Sturm, Andrei Zyuzin
1996-97 Stephen Guolla
1995-96 Marcus Ragnarsson
1994-95 Jeff Friesen                 

View More