Skip to main content
The Official Site of the San Jose Sharks

Marleau Voted "Sharks Player of the Year"

by San Jose Sharks Staff / San Jose Sharks
The San Jose Sharks announced today that team captain Patrick Marleau has been selected as the Seagate Technology “Sharks Player of the Year” in a vote by the Bay Area media.

Marleau, who also received the honors in 2004, becomes only the fourth Sharks player to win the award twice (Evgeni Nabokov in 2008 and 2001, Joe Thornton in 2006, 2007 and Mike Vernon in 1998 and co-winner in 1999 with Steve Shields).

Seagate Technology will donate $5,000 on behalf of Marleau to the Sharks Foundation in honor of his selection, which is given to the player contributing most to the success of the Sharks in the 2008-09 regular season.

The award will be presented prior to tonight’s game against the Phoenix Coyotes at HP Pavilion at San Jose.

Entering play tonight, Marleau sits second on the team and T-33rd among all NHL scorers with 70 points (37 goals, 33 assists) along with a plus-18 rating. His 37 goals are a career-high (10th overall in the NHL) and he is seven points shy of his career high of 78. He is also tied for second in the NHL in game-winning goals (10), tied-for-second in short-handed goals (5) (he had two previously in his career) and tied-for-third in short-handed points (five goals, two assists for seven points). He missed the five games with a lower body injury.

This season, Marleau appeared in his 800th NHL game (Oct. 17 at Anaheim), scored his 600th (and 601st) NHL point, including the game-winning goal (Feb. 17 vs. Edmonton) and made his third career Western Conference NHL All-Star appearance (2007, 2004) and tied for the game-high with three points (one goal, two assists for three points).

Marleau had a seven-game point streak (four goals, six assists for ten points) from Nov. 11 thru 28 and he surpassed Owen Nolan's all-time franchise record for power play goals by scoring his 76th on Dec. 4 vs. Columbus. He tied his 2007-08 season goal total (19 in 78 games) in just 38 games with his tally on Jan. 3 vs. the Islanders.

Off the ice, on Oct. 15, Marleau partnered with the Sharks and Good Tidings Foundation to fund and install a street hockey court at Washington Elementary School in San Jose, which is aptly named "The Patrick Marleau Street Hockey Court". He missed the March 25 game at Chicago due to birth of his second son (Brody Christopher).

Established in the 1996-97 season, the Seagate Technology “Sharks Player of the Month” program honors the Sharks player(s) who have contributed most to the team’s success each month. Seagate Technology will donate $2,500 on behalf of the player(s) to the Sharks Foundation.

In addition, one player will be selected as the Seagate Technology “Sharks Player of the Year” at the conclusion of the season and Seagate Technology will donate $5,000 on his behalf to the Sharks Foundation. Seagate Technology has donated more than $260,000 to the Sharks Foundation since the program's inception.

“Seagate has made social responsibility one of the values that forms the foundation of our business and we take pride in the thousands of Seagate employees who convert our social responsibility beliefs into action,” said Bill Watkins, CEO, Seagate Technology. “The more than 2,000 Bay Area employees of Seagate understand and appreciate the commitment of like-minded organizations such as the Sharks Foundation, whose programming platform touches lives throughout Santa Clara and Santa Cruz counties. As a long-time partner of the team, we are proud to continue our support as they continue to offer timely and meaningful solutions for those in need.”

Past winners of the Seagate Technology “Sharks Player of the Year” Award include:

2008-09 Patrick Marleau

2007-08 Evgeni Nabokov

2006-07 Joe Thornton

2005-06 Joe Thornton

2003-04 Patrick Marleau

2002-03 Teemu Selanne

2001-02 Mike Ricci

2000-01 Evgeni Nabokov

1999-00 Owen Nolan

1998-99 Steve Shields and Mike Vernon

1997-98 Mike Vernon

1996-97 Jeff Friesen

1995-96 Jamie Baker

1994-95 Ulf Dahlen

1993-94 Arturs Irbe

1992-93 Kelly Kisio

1991-92 Jeff Hackett

View More