Skip to main content
The Official Site of the San Jose Sharks

Golf Classic Raises Record Amount For Foundation

by Staff Writer / San Jose Sharks

Kicking off another exciting hockey season, registered golfers and members of the Sharks organization gathered together for the annual Sharks Foundation Golf Classic on Sept. 10, 2013 at the scenic Cinnabar Hills Golf Club in San Jose.

The tournament serves as the largest fundraising event for the Sharks Foundation, which uses proceeds to benefit youth and families in Santa Clara County. With 215 participating golfers, the event raised $108,000 for the Sharks Foundation, the largest amount in tournament history. Throughout the past eight seasons, it has raised more than $660,000 for the Sharks Foundation.

The event, which also included a lively auction and raffle, was a huge success due to the participation of Sharks players, coaches, broadcasters and front office, in addition to the extreme generosity of our event sponsors and participants.

Overall, a relaxing and fun day was had by many, while raising money for a fantastic cause.

For more information on the Sharks Foundation and its beneficiaries, please visit

2013 Tournament Results1st Place – Low Net (49.8)

Owen Nolan
Diana Nolan
Mark Chiavetta
Skip Lightfoot
Brett Wingo

1st Place – Low Gross (57)

*Won tie breaker on Mountain
Kelly Kahihikolo
Blair Zerr
Tim Brown
Troy Carson
James Wagar

2nd Place – Low Net (51.8)

Phil Albanese
Dan McHale
Jared Storms
Kevin White
Matt Irwin

2nd Place – Low Gross (57)

Darin Devincenzi
Dean Devincenzi
Ryan Devincenzi
Ron Garald
Joe Thornton

3rd Place – Low Net (52.4)

Bob Kraiss
Daniel Montes
Brian Michael
Robin Weckesser
Marc-Edouard Vlasic

3rd Place – Low Gross (59)

Jon Gundersen
June Lee
Bob Olsen
Brian Sosine                    
Doug Wilson

Massage Envy – Sausalito “Closest to the Pin” Contest

Canyon 5: Mark Loveless 2’6”
Lake 8: Aaron Crumpacker 6’3”
Mountain 2: Kevin Cordia 8’3”

Forbes Mill/Double D’s/Palacio “Longest Drive” Contest

Canyon 9: Brian Sosine (Men’s) & Jun Lee (Ladies)
Lake 9: Dave Skurla (Men’s) & Jun Lee (Ladies)
Mountain 9: Will Leivenberg (Men’s) & Diana Nolan (Ladies)

Radiation Detection Company “Hit the Mascot” Contest

Canyon 3: Tom Evan

Joe Pavelski “Beat the Shark” Contest

Canyon 5: Mark Loveless, Dave Guthridge, Frank Werbelow
Lake 8: Aaron Crumpacker, Don Goudy, Kelly Kahihikolo
Mountain 2: Kevin Cordia, Robert Fry, Blair Zerr

PlayStation Putting Contest

Dan Boyle

View More