Skip to main content
The Official Site of the San Jose Sharks

Four Sharks Named On All-Star Ballot

by San Jose Sharks Staff / San Jose Sharks
SAN JOSE, Calif. -- The National Hockey League announced today that four players will represent the San Jose Sharks on this season’s XM/NHL All-Star Game Ballot, Presented by 2K Sports. Centers Patrick Marleau and Joe Thornton, right wing Jonathan Cheechoo and goaltender Evgeni Nabokov will appear on the Western Conference list of starter considerations.

Marleau, 28, has appeared in two All-Star Games (2004, 2007) in his career. He is currently tied for eight on the team with 5 points (3-2=5) and is four points shy of 500 in his career (222-274=496). The 6-foot-2, 220-pound native of Aneroid, Saskatchewan has served as the Sharks captain since the 2003-04 season. During his captaincy, the Sharks have the NHL’s fifth best record (129-70-21). At the All-Star Game Skills Competition last season, he narrowly missed winning the Fastest Skater competition finishing with a laptime of 14.08-seconds

Thornton, 28, is looking to appear in his fifth consecutive All-Star Game as he was voted to the Western Conference’s starting lineup by the fans last season. The 2005-06 Hart Memorial and Art Ross Trophy winner is tied for 16th in the NHL in assists (11), 3rd in face-off percentage (63.0%) and leads the Sharks in points (5-11=16). In two-plus seasons, the 6-foot-4, 235-pound native of London, Ontario has posted 222 points (47-175=222) in just 154 games with the Sharks, good for eighth on the team’s all-time list.

Cheechoo, 27, will look to make the All-Star team for the second time. He was voted to the Western Conference’s starting lineup by the fans last season along with Thornton and also appeared in the 2004 NHL YoungStars Game for the Western Conference posting four assists. He is tied for fifth on the team in points (3-3=6). His 133 goals are the most of any player entering the League in 2002-03 or later. The 6-foot-1, 200-pound native of Moose Factory, Ontario has posted an NHL-best 25 game-winning goals since the 2003-04 season.

Nabokov, 32, has started every game for the Sharks this season. He, along with the Rangers' Henrik Lundqvist and Calgary's Miikka Kiprusoff, are the only goalies in the League to have started all of their team's games. Among all League netminders, Nabokov is tied for second in wins (7), third in minutes played (815:21), seventh in saves (333) and 16th in goals against average (2.36). The 2001 Calder Memorial Trophy winner has never made an All-Star appearance.

For the second consecutive season, the NHL-All Star Fan Balloting process will be entirely digital. From Nov. 13 through Jan. 2, fans around the world can “Vote Now, Vote Often” online at to select the starting lineups for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game in Atlanta. In addition, U.S. fans also can cast votes through Verizon Wireless cell phones.

In addition, fans attending Sharks games at HP Pavilion can vote beginning Nov. 17 at the North and South Concourses, and there will also be a voting station located on the Penthouse level.

The 2007-08 season marks the 20th year in which fans will determine the starting lineups for the NHL All-Star Game. Fans can vote for six Eastern Conference All-Stars and six Western Conference All-Stars: three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender for each team. If a player is not listed on the ballot, a space is provided for “write-in” votes. The three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender from each Conference receiving the most votes will comprise the starting lineups. Each of the 30 NHL clubs has at least two representatives on the ballot.

The 2008 NHL All-Star Weekend in Atlanta will feature live national broadcasts of the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event on Saturday, Jan. 26 and the NHL All-Star Game on Sunday, Jan. 27 on VERSUS in the United States and CBC and RDS in Canada. NASN and other international broadcasters will provide live coverage of both the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event and the NHL All-Star Game to more than 115 countries and territories in Europe. NHL RADIO on Westwood One will provide exclusive, national radio coverage which can be heard on stations around the United States and Canada as well as on XM Satellite Radio's NHL Home Ice and

Following are the 104 players named to the 2007-08 ballot in XM/NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports:

2007-08 XM / NHL All-Star Fan Ballot


Niklas Backstrom, Minnesota Wild
J.S. Giguere, Anaheim Ducks
Dominik Hasek, Detroit Red Wings
Nikolai Khabibulin, Chicago Blackhawks
Miikka Kiprusoff, Calgary Flames
Pascal Leclaire, Columbus Blue Jackets
Roberto Luongo, Vancouver Canucks
Evgeni Nabokov, San Jose Sharks
Marty Turco, Dallas Stars


Francois Beauchemin, Anaheim Ducks
Rob Blake, Los Angeles Kings
Scott Hannan, Colorado Avalanche
Ed Jovanovski, Phoenix Coyotes
Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit Red Wings
Mattias Ohlund, Vancouver Canucks
Dion Phaneuf, Calgary Flames
Chris Pronger, Anaheim Ducks
Brian Rafalski, Detroit Red Wings
Robyn Regehr, Calgary Flames
Sheldon Souray, Edmonton Oilers
Lubomir Visnovsky, Los Angeles Kings
Sergei Zubov, Dallas Stars


Jason Arnott, Nashville Predators
Mike Cammalleri, Los Angeles Kings
Jonathan Cheechoo, San Jose Sharks
Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings
Shane Doan, Phoenix Coyotes
Marian Gaborik, Minnesota Wild
Ryan Getzlaf, Anaheim Ducks
Martin Havlat, Chicago Blackhawks
Milan Hejduk, Colorado Avalanche
Ales Hemsky, Edmonton Oilers
Jarome Iginla, Calgary Flames
Paul Kariya, St. Louis Blues
Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings
Daymond Langkow, Calgary Flames
David Legwand, Nashville Predators
Patrick Marleau, San Jose Sharks
Andy McDonald, Anaheim Ducks
Mike Modano, Dallas Stars
Brenden Morrow, Dallas Stars
Rick Nash, Columbus Blue Jackets
Markus Naslund, Vancouver Canucks
Brian Rolston, Minnesota Wild
Joe Sakic, Colorado Avalanche
Daniel Sedin, Vancouver Canucks
Henrik Sedin, Vancouver Canucks
Ryan Smyth, Colorado Avalanche
Paul Stastny, Colorado Avalanche
Joe Thornton, San Jose Sharks
Keith Tkachuk, St. Louis Blues
Henrik Zetterberg, Detroit Red Wings



Martin Biron, Philadelphia Flyers
Martin Brodeur, New Jersey Devils
Rick DiPietro, New York Islanders
Ray Emery, Ottawa Senators
Cristobal Huet, Montreal Canadiens
Olaf Kolzig, Washington Capitals
Henrik Lundqvist, New York Rangers
Ryan Miller, Buffalo Sabres
Tomas Vokoun, Florida Panthers
Cam Ward, Carolina Hurricanes


Jay Bouwmeester, Florida Panthers
Dan Boyle, Tampa Bay Lightning
Brian Campbell, Buffalo Sabres
Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins
Tomas Kaberle, Toronto Maple Leafs
Andrei Markov, Montreal Canadiens
Bryan McCabe, Toronto Maple Leafs
Chris Phillips, Ottawa Senators
Wade Redden, Ottawa Senators
Henrik Tallinder, Buffalo Sabres
Kimmo Timonen, Philadelphia Flyers
Ryan Whitney, Pittsburgh Penguins


Maxim Afinogenov, Buffalo Sabres
Daniel Alfredsson, Ottawa Senators
Jason Blake, Toronto Maple Leafs
Daniel Briere, Philadelphia Flyers
Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
Chris Drury, New York Rangers
Patrik Elias, New Jersey Devils
Simon Gagne, Philadelphia Flyers
Brian Gionta, New Jersey Devils
Scott Gomez, New York Rangers
Bill Guerin, New York Islanders
Dany Heatley, Ottawa Senators
Marian Hossa, Atlanta Thrashers
Jaromir Jagr, New York Rangers
Olli Jokinen, Florida Panthers
Saku Koivu, Montreal Canadiens
Ilya Kovalchuk, Atlanta Thrashers
Slava Kozlov, Atlanta Thrashers
Vincent Lecavalier, Tampa Bay Lightning
Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins
Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
Brad Richards, Tampa Bay Lightning
Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning
Marc Savard, Boston Bruins
Brendan Shanahan, New York Rangers
Jason Spezza, Ottawa Senators
Eric Staal, Carolina Hurricanes
Mats Sundin, Toronto Maple Leafs
Thomas Vanek, Buffalo Sabres
Justin Williams, Carolina Hurricanes

View More