Skip to main content
The Official Site of the San Jose Sharks

Follow San Jose And Washington On The Blog

by San Jose Sharks Staff / San Jose Sharks

Washington tried for a solid minute to get Michal Neuvirth out of his net, but the Sharks pressure was relentless.  It was a contributing factor in closing out the 3-2 win.

Washington would not quit as Nicklas Backstrom tucked one inside the far post to pull the Caps within one.  No doubt they would attempt to pull their goalie.

Jamal Mayers and Ben Eager flashed their speed and nearly connected on a rush into the offensive zone.

Dany Heatley officially got credit for San Jose's third tally after much review.

12 seconds into the power play the Sharks had a 3-1 lead.  Dan Boyle let loose a shot that was like a magic bullet as it hit a minimum of three sticks before crossing the line.  Whoever ended up with the goal provided San Jose a two goal lead.

Some great dingling and dangling by Ben Eager forced John Erskine to trip up Scott Nichol and the Sharks had another power play opportunity.

Kyle Wellwood almost added a second helper as he set up a wide open Logan Couture in the slot, but Michal Neuvirth found the vulcanized rubber.

Ryane Clowe broke the tie and put San Jose up 2-1.  He simply followed up a Kyle Wellwood shot with an easy rebound tap in.  It marked Wellwood's first assist as a Sharks player.

The Sharks came out peppering Michal Neuvirth, but the early shots were turned aside.

The battle between two top NHL clubs was as tight as anticipated, but someone would eventually prevail.

Plenty of action, but no goals in the second.  Tied 1-1 after 40 minutes.

Niclas Wallin made a diving play to prevent a breakaway by Alexander Semin. 

Washington last won in San Jose in 1991.  Bill Clinton was in office and gas cost $1.15 a gallon.  Hopefully the streak continued.

The blog returned after technical difficulties.  Marc-Edouard Vlasic's return was questionable with an undetermined injury.

All even at one after 20 minutes.

Ben Eager was whistled for tripping and Washington had the rest of the period on the man advantage.

Joe Pavelski set up Jason Demers in the slot, but the quick attempt went wide of the net.

San Jose held the zone quite a bit, but could not produce the game's first goal.

A surprising rush by Douglas Murray led to a scoring chance and put Alex Ovechkin in the penalty box.

Another nice save by Antti Niemi with Washington circling the net.

Exciting attack by Washington, led by the hard charging Alex Ovechkin.  Antti Niemi rebuffed the effort and kept the game goal less.

Former Shark Scott Hannan wore #23 and Matt Bradley wore #10 for Washington.

Ben Eager started the physical play with a punishing hit on Tyler Sloan.

Underway in a battle of the last two Presidents' Trophy winners.

San Jose has called up Nick Petrecki and Tommy Wingels, but neither will dress in the contest.  Antero Niittymaki has been placed on the IR.

Joe Thornton, Devin Setoguchi and Patrick Marleau started up front with Douglas Murray and Dan Boyle on the blueliner.  Antti Niemi manned the nets opposite Michal Neuvirth.
View More