Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the San Jose Sharks

Evander Kane Voted 2020-21 'Sharks Player of the Year'

by San Jose Sharks @SanJoseSharks /

SAN JOSE, CA - The San Jose Sharks (@SanJoseSharks) announced today that forward Evander Kane (@evanderkane_9) has been selected as the "Sharks Player of the Year" for 2020-21 in a vote by the Bay Area media. The award is presented to the player who contributes the greatest amount of success to the Sharks in the 2020-21 regular season. This is the first time Kane has been honored with this award.

Kane, 29, recorded 49 points (22 goals, 27 assists) in 56 games played this season. He led all Sharks skaters in goals, assists, points, even-strength goals (17), and shorthanded points (4). His 0.88 points-per-game this season were a career high, beating his previous record of 0.77 set in the 2010-11 season with the Winnipeg Jets. In the first game of the season, he recorded three points to join four other Sharks to so who registered at least three points in the season opening game.

He appeared in his 200th game as a Shark on Feb. 17 at Minnesota, and collected his fifth career four-point game (one goal, three assists) on Apr. 26 vs Arizona. Kane reached the 20 goal threshold for the sixth consecutive season after scoring the following night on Apr. 28 vs. Arizona, including seven total 20-goal seasons. At the time of his 20th goal, only Alex Ovechkin, Aleksander Barkov and Brad Marchand have scored at least 20 goals in six consecutive seasons since 2015-16.

The six-foot-two, 210-pound native of Vancouver, British Columbia was originally selected by Atlanta in the 2009 NHL Draft (first round, fourth overall).


2019-20 Timo Meier

2018-19 Tomas Hertl & Brent Burns

2017-18 Logan Couture

2016-17 Brent Burns

2015-16 Joe Thornton

2014-15 Joe Pavelski

2013-14 Joe Pavelski

2012-13 Antti Niemi

2011-12 Logan Couture

2010-11 Antti Niemi

2009-10 Patrick Marleau

2008-09 Patrick Marleau

2007-08 Evgeni Nabokov

2006-07 Joe Thornton

2005-06 Joe Thornton

2003-04 Patrick Marleau

2002-03 Teemu Selanne

2001-02 Mike Ricci

2000-01 Evgeni Nabokov

1999-00 Owen Nolan

1998-99 Steve Shields and Mike Vernon

1997-98 Mike Vernon

1996-97 Jeff Friesen

1995-96 Jamie Baker

1994-95 Ulf Dahlen

1993-94 Arturs Irbe

1992-93 Kelly Kisio

1991-92 Jeff Hackett

View More