Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the San Jose Sharks

Burns Named 2017 Norris Trophy Finalist

Second Consecutive Season That Burns Has Earned Finalist Honors

by San Jose Sharks @SanJoseSharks /

SAN JOSE, CA - San Jose Sharks (@SanJoseSharks) announced today that defenseman Brent Burns (@Burnzie88) has been selected as a finalist for the 2017 James Norris Memorial Trophy. The award is given annually to the defenseman who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position. 

The winner is selected in a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular season and will be presented on June 21 at the 2017 NHL Awards™ in Las Vegas.

This is the second time Burns has been named a finalist for the Norris Trophy. Last season, he finished 3rd in the voting for the award.

This season, Burns posted 76 points (29 goals, 47 assists) and a plus-19 rating in 82 games. Burns led the Sharks in assists and points, and finished tied for the team lead in goals. Overall, he ranked 9th in the NHL in points, and T-12th in assists. 

Among defensemen, Burns led the NHL in points and goals, and was tied for 3rd in assists. His 29 goals are a Sharks franchise record for a defenseman in a single season, and ranks as the 18th highest single season total by a defenseman in NHL history. In addition, his 76 points broke his own Sharks franchise record for most points by a blueliner in a single season (set last year), as he became the first defenseman in the NHL since Brian Leetch (1995-96/96-97) to post back-to-back 75-points seasons.

Burns was also named the Sharks Foundation "Sharks Player of the Year" this season. The defender was named to his third NHL All-Star game this season, and helped Team Canada win the 2016 World Cup of Hockey prior to the 2016-17 NHL regular season.

The six-foot-five, 230-pound native of Barrie, Ontario was originally selected by Minnesota in the first round (20th overall) of the 2003 NHL Draft. He was acquired by San Jose from Minnesota on June 24, 2011.

The trophy is named in honor of James E. Norris, owner of the Detroit Red Wings from 1932 to 1952. The trophy was first awarded at the conclusion of the 1953-54 NHL season.

The 2017 NHL Awards™ marks the eighth time the League will honor the best hockey players in the world and top performances of the season in Las Vegas, and the first time that T-Mobile Arena will host the NHL Awards™. Other Las Vegas venues that have hosted include the Palms Hotel (2009-2011), Encore at Wynn Las Vegas (2012, 2014), MGM Grand (2015) and The Joint at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino (2016). Encore at Wynn Las Vegas will serve as NHL® Headquarters during the 2017 NHL Awards™ & NHL Expansion Draft™.

View More