Skip to main content
The Official Site of the San Jose Sharks

Boyle Named 2008-09 Second Team All-Star

by Staff Writer / San Jose Sharks
LAS VEGAS -- For the second time in his NHL career, Sharks defenseman Dan Boyle has been selected to the 2008-09 NHL All-Star Second Team. Boyle placed fourth among defensemen with 173 votes and shares the honor with third place finisher, Nicklas Lidstrom of the Detroit Red Wings.

"I always appreciate being recognized for the hard work I put in," Boyle said exclusively to on Friday morning. "It's an honor to be named with these guys and it's a nice touch to my career, but my main goal is to win a Cup."

Washington Capitals left wing Alex Ovechkin, voted a First Team All-Star for the fourth time in as many NHL seasons, highlights the players named to the League's First and Second All-Star Teams for 2008-09.

Ovechkin is the second player in League history to earn First Team honors in each of his first four NHL seasons and the first since Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame goaltender Bill Durnan was named from 1943-44 through 1946-47.

Joining Ovechkin on the First Team is Washington defenseman Mike Green, marking the first time in franchise history the Capitals have placed multiple players on a First Team.

The Boston Bruins also placed two players on the First Team, goaltender Tim Thomas and defenseman Zdeno Chara. The last time the Bruins boasted as many was in 1973-74 (defenseman Bobby Orr, center Phil Esposito and right wing Ken Hodge). Jarome Iginla of the Calgary Flames earned his third career First Team berth at right wing and Evgeni Malkin of the Pittsburgh Penguins earned his second consecutive selection at center.

Three members of the Detroit Red Wings have earned a place on the Second Team. Center Pavel Datsyuk and right wing Marian Hossa each has earned his first career selection, while Lidstrom is making his Second Team debut after nine First Team berths in 10 seasons. Rounding out the team: Columbus Blue Jackets goaltender Steve Mason, the first rookie goaltender to earn a post-season All-Star berth since Chicago's Ed Belfour was named to the First Team in 1990-91; New Jersey Devils left wing Zach Parise (first career selection) and  Boyle (second).

Voting for the All-Star Team is conducted among representatives of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular season.
View More