Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Ottawa Senators

Senators News

Three first-round picks highlight Senators Rookie Showcase roster

The annual tournament will display the organization's future from Sept. 6 to Sept. 9

by Sens communications @Media_Sens / Ottawa Senators

OTTAWA - The Ottawa Senators have invited 28 players to take part in a three-team round-robin tournament the team is hosting from Sept. 6 to Sept. 9 at CAA Arena in Belleville, Ont. The 2019 Rookie Showcase features many of the Senators' top prospects at a tournament that will also include those of the Montreal Canadiens and Winnipeg Jets.

Ottawa's 2019 rookie tournament roster features three first-round NHL draft picks - Logan Brown (11th, 2016), Erik Brännström (15th, 2017 - Vegas) and Josh Norris (19th, 2017 - San Jose). Goaltender Joey Daccord, defenceman Brännström and forwards Vitaly Abramov, Drake Batherson, Brown, Alex Formenton and Max Veronneau each saw playing time with Ottawa in 2018-19. In doing so, all but Brown and Formenton made their respective NHL debuts.


Seven players on the roster appeared in the AHL last season, while three saw time in the ECHL. Forward Jonathan Davidsson played in the Swedish Hockey League. In total, nine players were drafted by the Senators, six were obtained via trade, three were signed as free agents and 10 players will be participating under tryout agreements.


The Senators rookies will be led by Belleville Senators head coach Troy Mann, B-Sens assistant coaches David Bell and Colin Chaulk, Ottawa Senators player development coaches, Shean Donovan, Clarke MacArthur and Jesse Winchester and B-Sens video coach, Frederic Lemay. Ottawa's hockey staff will also be in Belleville for the tournament.


The Senators rookie camp, which is being presented by Sport Chek (@SportChek), will officially begin with a morning practice at the Bell Sensplex on Thursday, Sept. 5.


2019 rookie tournament schedule at Belleville's CAA Arena

Friday, Sept. 6: Ottawa vs. Winnipeg, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 7: Ottawa vs. Montreal, 7 p.m.

Sunday, Sept. 8: Montreal vs. Winnipeg, 7 p.m.

Monday, Sept. 9: Winnipeg vs. Ottawa, 7 p.m.


The Senators have participated in 18 rookie tournaments since their first appearance in 1999. The team most recently participated in a rookie tournament last September which was held in Laval, Que. Ottawa won the tournament in earning an undefeated 2-0-0 record: a 4-0 win over Montreal on Sept. 7 and a 6-5 overtime win over Toronto on Sept. 8, 2018.


Since the first tournament in 1999, past rookie team rosters have included the following notable participants who have also played for the Senators: Brady Tkachuk (2018), Thomas Chabot (2015, 2016, 2017), Cody Ceci (2013), Jean-Gabriel Pageau (2011, 2013), Mika Zibanejad (2011), Mark Stone (2010, 2011, 2013), Erik Karlsson (2009), Zack Smith (2008, 2009), Nick Foligno (2007), Jason Spezza (2001, 2002) and Chris Neil (1999).


Visit the Senators website:

Engage with the Senators on Twitter: @Senators

Like the Senators on Facebook:

Follow the Senators on Instagram: senators


- end -

View More