Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Ottawa Senators

Senators News

Sens announce 25th anniversary team as voted by fans

by Sens Communications @Media_Sens / Ottawa Senators

OTTAWA - The Ottawa Senators announced today the club's 25th anniversary team, as voted by fans as the franchise's most outstanding in their respective positions and which consists of 12 forwards, six defencemen and two goaltenders. The 20-player lineup consists of five current Senators and 10 members of the club's 2007 Stanley Cup Final roster.

The following are the results of public voting which took place by way of the Senators website between Oct. 14 and Dec. 30, 2016.


Daniel Alfredsson - The most prolific player in Senators history, Alfredsson was the club's longest serving captain (13 seasons from 1999-00 to 2012-13) and is the club's all-time leader in goals, assists and points in both the regular season (426-682-1,108) and playoffs (51-49-100).

Radek Bonk - Bonk spent the first 10 of his 14-season NHL career with the Senators and is tied for sixth with 61 playoff games in an Ottawa uniform.

Mike Fisher - Known for his strong two-way play and great community contributions, Fisher played 675 games in a Senators uniform between 1999-00 and 2010-11.

Martin Havlat - One of the Senators' most efficient goal scorers, Havlat scored 23 game-winning goals in just 298 regular season games with the team.

Dany Heatley - The Senators all-time single season record holder in both goals (50, 2005-06 and 2006-07) and points (105, 2006-07), Heatley tied both Alfredsson and Jason Spezza with 22 points (seven goals, 15 assists) during the team's 2007 Stanley Cup run.

Marian Hossa - An integral part of the Senators' early playoff runs, Hossa recorded four 30-plus goal seasons in Ottawa, including 45 in 2002-03.

Chris Kelly - Kelly spent the first seven seasons of his NHL career with Ottawa. His 512 games as a Senator rank third behind Chris Neil and Erik Karlsson among current roster players.

Chris Neil - Now playing in his 15th NHL season (all of which have been with Ottawa), Neil is the Senators' longest serving player on the team's current roster and became just the third in club history to play 1,000 games on Dec. 10, 2016, at Los Angeles.

Jason Spezza - The eighth captain in franchise history, Spezza ranks second only to Alfredsson among all-time Senators in goals, assists and points in both the regular season (251-436-687) and playoffs (17-35-52).

Kyle Turris - Currently playing in his sixth season with the club, Turris has led Senators forwards in goals (105), assists (141) and points (246) since joining the team on Dec. 17, 2011, via trade from the Phoenix Coyotes.

Antoine Vermette - In 359 games played for the Senators, Vermette recorded 167 points (80 goals, 87 assists) and lead the team with a 59.1% face-off percentage over 20 games during the 2007 Stanley Cup Playoffs.

Alexei Yashin - The team leader in points during five of his seven seasons as a Senator, Yashin recorded career highs in goals (44), assists (50) and points (94) in 1998-99.


Zdeno Chara - In 299 games as a Senator, Chara recorded 146 points (51 goals, 95 assists) and earned his first All-Star appearance with the team in 2003.

Steve Duchesne - Spending just two seasons with the Senators, Duchesne made his mark by scoring the lone goal in a 1-0 victory over the Buffalo Sabres on April 12, 1996; a victory that clinched the franchise's first ever playoff berth.

Erik Karlsson - Serving in his third season as captain, Karlsson is the only Senator to win a Norris Trophy, of which he won two, as the league's best defencemen (2011-12, 2014-15). He leads the team in games played (528), assists (321) and points (429) since making his NHL debut on Oct. 3, 2009, against the N.Y. Rangers.

Chris Phillips - A first overall pick by the Senators in the 1996 NHL Entry Draft, Phillips served as an alternate captain for nine (2006-07 to 2014-15) of his 17 seasons with Ottawa. Spending his entire NHL career with Ottawa, he is the franchise's all-time leader in having played 1,179 games.

Wade Redden - The team's all-time leader among defencemen in playoff goals (12), playoff assists (33) and playoff points (45), Redden helped the Senators reach the playoffs in each of the 11 seasons he spent with the club.

Anton Volchenkov - One of just four defencemen to play 400 games in a Senators uniform, Volchenkov was a defensive presence during the team's Stanley Cup Final run and registered an NHL-best 80 blocked shots during the 2007 playoffs.


Craig Anderson - Currently playing in his seventh season with the Senators, Anderson holds all-time franchise records in both saves (7,841) and save percentage (.919) and ranks second in both wins (138) and shutouts (22).

Patrick Lalime - The franchise's all-time leader in games (283), wins (146) and shutouts (30) in both the regular season and playoffs (41 games, 21 wins, five shutouts), Lalime's career playoff goals-against-average with the team is an impressive 1.77.

Visit the Senators website:

Engage with the Senators on Twitter: @Senators

Like the Senators on Facebook:

Follow the Senators on Instagram: senators


- end -

View More