Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Ottawa Senators

Senators News

Senators CEO receives honour

by Rob Brodie / Ottawa Senators
The Senators’ top executive is No. 1 with Ottawa Business Journal, too.

Roy Mlakar, the president, chief executive officer and alternate governor of the Senators and Scotiabank Place, is OBJ’s choice as CEO of the Year for 2008. The announcement was made today, with Mlakar to be formally honoured by the business newspaper at a gala dinner Oct. 10 at the Canadian War Museum.

“It’s obviously an honour, both from (the panel) who has done the selecting and prestigious publication that is making the selection,” said Mlakar, entering his 13th season as the Senators’ president and CEO. “However, I have always looked at the fact this would never be possible if it were not for the team that works for me.

“The franchise has come a long way in the last 13 years and I have been fortunate to work with many exceptional people to make this accomplishment possible.”

Under Mlakar’s direction, the Senators set franchise records in the 2007-08 season for total attendance (812,665) and sellouts (38), including 34 straight to finish the year. The Sens have recorded 11 consecutive playoff appearances, the longest such string of success for any Canadian team in the National Hockey League and tied for second overall (with the New Jersey Devils), behind only the Stanley Cup champion Detroit Red Wings (17).

Mlakar is also heavily involved in the community. He sits on the board of directors for the Sens Foundation, Candlelighters and the Ottawa Sports Hall of Fame, and has been honoured in recent years for his community efforts by the United Way, among others.

A committee chaired by OBJ publisher Michael Curran selected Mlakar for his award. The October dinner will also raise money for Roger's House with a charity raffle.

View More