Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Ottawa Senators

Senators News

News Release: Senators invite 26 players to 2013 rookie camp and tournament

by Staff Writer / Ottawa Senators

OTTAWA - The Ottawa Senators pre-season, presented by Canadian Tire and Jumpstart, begins in just under two weeks when the team’s rookie camp opens on Wednesday, Sept. 4. Today the Senators announced the names of the 26 players who have been invited to take part in a four-team round-robin tournament from Sept. 5 to 8 at the Budweiser Gardens in London, Ont. Joining the Senators prospects at the tournament will be squads from the Chicago Blackhawks, Pittsburgh Penguins and host Toronto Maple Leafs.

The Senators rookies will be led by Luke Richardson, head coach of the Binghamton Senators, and assistant Steve Stirling. Ottawa’s hockey staff will also be in London for the tournament.

The squad is comprised of three goaltenders, eight defencemen and 15 forwards (complete roster below). Eighteen (18) players were drafted by the Senators, six were signed as free agents and two players will be participating under professional tryout agreements.

Sixteen (16) of the invited players saw American Hockey League action last season with Binghamton, while forwards Derek Grant, Jean-Gabriel Pageau and Mark Stone each played their first NHL regular-season game with Ottawa during the 2012-13 campaign. The Senators’ 2013 rookie tournament roster is also comprised of three recent first-round NHL draft picks – Curtis Lazar (17th, 2013), Cody Ceci (15th, 2012) and Matt Puempel (24th, 2011).

The Senators rookies are scheduled to begin this year’s camp with a practice at the Bell Sensplex on Wednesday, Sept. 4, at 9 a.m. before leaving for the tournament.

The Ottawa Senators’ 2013-14 rookie tournament roster is as follows:

Goaltenders: François Brassard (Quebec - QMJHL), Chris Driedger (Calgary - WHL), Andrew Hammond (Bowling Green State - CCHA).

Defencemen: Ben Blood (Elmira - ECHL, Binghamton - AHL), Cody Ceci (Ottawa - OHL, Owen Sound - OHL, Binghamton - AHL), Fredrik Claesson (Binghamton - AHL), Ben Harpur (Guelph - OHL), Daniel New (Elmira - ECHL, Binghamton - AHL), Troy Rutkowski (Portland - WHL), Michael Sdao (Princeton - ECAC, Binghamton - AHL), Chris Wideman (Elmira - ECHL, Binghamton - AHL).

Forwards: Jakub Culek (Cape Breton - QMJHL, Binghamton - AHL), Vincent Dunn (Val d’Or - QMJHL), Derek Grant (Binghamton - AHL, Ottawa - NHL), Wacey Hamilton (Binghamton - AHL), Danny Hobbs (Greenville - ECHL), Ludwig Karlsson (Northeastern - Hockey East), Darren Kramer (Elmira - ECHL, Binghamton - AHL), Curtis Lazar (Edmonton - WHL), Jarrod Maidens (Owen Sound - OHL), Jean-Gabriel Pageau (Binghamton - AHL, Ottawa - NHL), Shane Prince (Binghamton - AHL), Matt Puempel (Kitchener - OHL, Binghamton - AHL), Buddy Robinson (Lake Superior State - CCHA, Binghamton - AHL), Cole Schneider (Binghamton - AHL), Mark Stone (Binghamton - AHL, Ottawa - NHL).

2013 rookie tournament schedule at London’s Budweiser Gardens

Thursday, Sept. 5: Pittsburgh vs. Ottawa, 2 p.m.; Chicago vs. Toronto, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 7: Ottawa vs. Chicago, 2 p.m.; Toronto vs. Pittsburgh, 7 p.m.

Sunday, Sept. 8: Chicago vs. Pittsburgh, 2 p.m.; Toronto vs. Ottawa, 7 p.m.

The Senators have participated in 12 rookie tournaments since their first appearance in 1999. The team most recently participated in a rookie tournament in September, 2011, in Oshawa, Ont. Ottawa won the tournament in emerging with three victories in three games, including a 4-3 overtime win over Toronto in the tournament finale. Stone scored the overtime-winning goal for the Senators rookies.

Since the first tournament in 1999, past rookie team rosters have included the following notable participants who have also played for the Senators: Jared Cowen (2010, 2011), Nick Foligno (2007), Eric Gryba (2011), Erik Karlsson (2009), Robin Lehner (2009, 2010, 2011), Brian Lee (2007), Chris Neil (1999), Peter Regin (2008, 2009), Jason Spezza (2001, 2002), Zack Smith (2008, 2009), Patrick Wiercioch (2010, 2011) and Mika Zibanejad (2011).

Visit the Senators website:

Follow the Senators on Twitter: @NHL_Sens

Like the Senators on Facebook:

- end -

View More