Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Ottawa Senators

Senators News

News Release: Senators invite 24 players to 2015 rookie camp and tournament

by Staff Writer / Ottawa Senators

OTTAWA – The Ottawa Senators (@Senators) today announced the names of the 24 players who have been invited to take part in a four-team round-robin tournament from Sept. 11 to 13 at the Budweiser Gardens in London, Ont. The rookie camp and tournament marks the official launch of the Senators’ pre-season, presented by Canadian Tire. Joining the Senators prospects at the tournament will be rosters composed of prospects from the Montreal Canadiens, Pittsburgh Penguins and host Toronto Maple Leafs.

The Senators rookies will be led by Luke Richardson, head coach of the Binghamton Senators, and assistants Steve Stirling and Tim Marks. Ottawa’s hockey staff will also be in London for the tournament.

Ottawa’s 2015 rookie team is composed of two goaltenders, seven defencemen and 15 forwards (roster available below). Twelve (12) players were drafted by the Senators, three were obtained in trades, three were signed as free agents and six players will be participating under tryout agreements.

Ten (10) of the invited players skated in American Hockey League action last season (nine of whom did so with Binghamton) while goaltender Chris Driedger and forward Matt Puempel are the only two players who made their respective NHL debuts, both of whom did so with Ottawa, in 2014-15. The Senators’ 2015 rookie tournament roster is also composed of two first-round NHL draft picks – Thomas Chabot (18th, 2015) and Puempel (24th, 2011).

The Senators rookies are scheduled to begin this year’s camp, which is being presented by Sport Chek, with a morning practice at the Bell Sensplex on Thursday, Sept. 10, before leaving for the tournament.

The Senators’ 2015 rookie tournament roster:

Goaltenders: Chris Driedger (Evansville - ECHL, Binghamton - AHL, Ottawa - NHL), Matt O’Connor (Boston University – H-East).

Defencemen: Chris Carlisle (Oshawa - OHL), Thomas Chabot (Saint John - QMJHL), Marcus Crawford (Saginaw - OHL), Ben Harpur (Guelph - OHL, Barrie - OHL), Chris Rumble (Canisius College - AHA, Evansville - ECHL), Troy Rutkowski (Evansville - ECHL, Binghamton - AHL), Mikael Wikstrand (Frölunda - SHL).

Forwards: Filip Chlapik (Charlottetown - QMJHL), Vincent Dunn (Rimouski - QMJHL), Ryan Dzingel (Binghamton - AHL), Travis Ewanyk (Oklahoma City - AHL), Gabriel Gagne (Victoriaville - QMJHL), Alex Guptill (Binghamton - AHL), Tobias Lindberg (Oshawa - OHL), Max McCormick (Binghamton - AHL), Nick Paul (North Bay - OHL), Ryan Penny (Rouyn-Noranda - QMJHL), Francis Perron (Rouyn-Noranda - QMJHL), Matt Puempel (Binghamton - AHL, Ottawa - NHL), Buddy Robinson (Binghamton - AHL), Alex Wideman (Miami University/Ohio - NCHC, Binghamton - AHL), Matthew Zay (Mercyhurst College - AHA, Springfield - AHL, Binghamton - AHL).

2015 rookie tournament schedule at London’s Budweiser Gardens

Friday, Sept. 11: Pittsburgh vs. Montreal, 4 p.m.; Ottawa vs. Toronto, 7:35 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 12: Pittsburgh vs. Ottawa, 4 p.m.; Toronto vs. Montreal, 7:35 p.m.

Sunday, Sept. 13: Montreal vs. Ottawa, 4 p.m.; Toronto vs. Pittsburgh, 7:35 p.m.

The Senators have participated in 14 rookie tournaments since their first appearance in 1999. The team most recently participated in a rookie tournament in September, 2014, which was also held in London, Ont. Ottawa was one of three teams to conclude the tournament with a record of 2-1-0 but saw its eight-game rookie tournament winning streak come to a close with a 4-3 setback against Pittsburgh on Sept. 13, 2014.

Since the first tournament in 1999, past rookie team rosters have included the following notable participants who have also played for the Senators: Cody Ceci (2013), Jared Cowen (2010, 2011), Nick Foligno (2007), Andrew Hammond (2013, 2014), Erik Karlsson (2009), Curtis Lazar (2013, 2014), Chris Neil (1999), Jason Spezza (2001, 2002), Zack Smith (2008, 2009), Mark Stone (2010, 2011, 2013), Patrick Wiercioch (2010, 2011) and Mika Zibanejad (2011).

Visit the Senators website:
Engage with the Senators on Twitter: @Senators
Like the Senators on Facebook:
Follow the Senators on Instagram: senators

- end -

View More